Overcoming Fear — Why Am I Not Doing What Needs To Be Done?

0 84
Avatar for Vibration101
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Story, Writing, Experiences, ...

Is everything I write after this sentence an excuse?

Writing this article proves I’m making a change…

We’re a week into the new year, and I’m still stewing on this question. I know what needs to be done, but why am I not doing it? Laziness? Doubt? Insecurity? Sabbatical?

At the end of the day, the only answer is fear. Fear of failure is what prevents me (and most others) from moving forward. But here I am, writing this article to the best of my ability to explain my reasons for ‘fear’.

State Of Mind

Ask anyone that’s been a major part of my life in the last 10 years and they’ll all agree on one thing…

October-February is my worst part of the year.

The common term is “seasonal depression”, and this part of the year is especially difficult. Day’s getting shorter, the pressure of the holidays, and especially coming to terms with time.

The realization that the year’s ending makes me think harder about where I’m at, and what brought me there. It never feels like enough, no matter how much I accomplish.

C. JoyBell C. said it best: “I am my own biggest critic. Before anyone else has criticized me, I have already criticized myself. But for the rest of my life, I am going to be with me and I don’t want to spend my life with someone who is always critical. So I am going to stop being my own critic. It’s high time that I accept all the great things about me.”

Writing With Sincerity

The purpose or reason I write is for one thing: To encourage, inspire, uplift, and motivate anyone who reads these words. Why put my thoughts, feelings, and energy into something if I don’t think it will benefit someone else?

What if my heart isn’t into it?

The words I write are influenced by my environment and experiences. Would it be fair to anyone who made it this far to fake sincerity? If I’m feeling a little low and force myself to write something, is it really to anyone's benefit?

The only thing I want in this world is to build others up. I refuse to write when I’m unable to do that.

Laziness

Have I stopped writing because I’m lazy or unmotivated? I won’t disprove this excuse, but I do know that every step I take is a step in the right direction.

Do what needs to be done, when it needs to be done the best way it can be done, and do it that way every time. -Bobby Knight

This is me, right now, at this moment. I know what NEEDS to be done, and I’m doing it. I’ve thought about this article for weeks, and now here it is.


2022: New Year New Me! (BARF!)

Will I live in fear, or branch out of my comfort zone and do what needs to be done?

I (and you!) are capable of anything, but are we willing to reach out and grab it?

Action Plan

Weekly articles:

  • Personal

  • Fiction

  • Keywords

I’m writing 3x a week, and this is part of it. I thought I should write one article about personal experiences, or what I’m thinking and feeling. One article will be complete fiction, a ridiculous short story straight from my imagination. The last article will be keyword-driven, focused solely on SEO and ranking on my website (vibration101.com).

I have so many new and exciting things coming out in 2022, it’s difficult to contain my excitement!

Videos are being created for a youtube channel, drafts are being worked on toward my first book, but there’s only one thing stopping me…..FEAR.

I refuse to be controlled by fear, apprehension, or doubt. Every day can be the start of a “new year”, so let’s live like it!

5
$ 12.60
$ 11.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Sponsors of Vibration101
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Vibration101
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Story, Writing, Experiences, ...

Comments