9 Of Swords - Are Stress And Worry Keeping You Up At Night?

10 54
Avatar for Vibration101
2 years ago

The 9 Of Swords Tarot Card represent anxiety, fear, stress, and worry. These emotions are created from overthinking and expecting the worst. When our minds reach a dark, negative, and toxic state, we begin to suffer and experience inner and outer turmoil. The mental strain from constantly worrying can lead to both emotional and physical problems. The swords suit in tarot is associated with the element of air, and is known as 'spades' in traditional playing card decks. Swords are just one of the 4 suits featured in the Minor Arcana, and this suit represent the mind, logic, thought, and intellect. The suit of swords in a reading is analytical, precise, sharp, and quick-witted.

9 Of Swords Meaning

The 9 Of Swords Tarot Card is the definition of mental and emotional distress. In the card we see a woman sitting straight up in bed, with both hands pressed to her face. It looks as if she was awakened suddenly, troubled by an awful nightmare. She could also be exasperated and exhausted from being unable to fall asleep, wide awake from the thoughts that are consuming her mind. We can see 9 Swords hanging behind her, which signify the multitude of thoughts and worries that fill her head.

Rider Waite Tarot Deck

Beneath her on the bed frame is a carving of two men fighting, with only one of them still standing. Could this be symbolism for our rational versus irrational mind? Allowing thoughts of fear and worry consume us, overpowering our logical and rational reasoning? The woman is lying beneath an ornate quilt blanket with roses and various astrological symbols.

9 Of Swords Keywords

Upright:

  • Stress

  • Turmoil

  • Anxiety

  • Fear

  • Burden

  • Despair

  • Nightmares

  • Mental Distress

  • Negativity

  • Worry

Reversed:

  • Recovery

  • Acceptance

  • Finding Ways To Cope

  • Seeking Help

  • Asking For Assistance

  • Mental Health

  • Improvement

  • Letting Go

  • Release Of Guilt

  • Facing Your Fears

9 Of Swords Upright

Dreaming Way Tarot Deck

The 9 Of Swords Upright isn't a very pretty card. The stress, anxiety, and turmoil coming from the card are obvious and powerful. Have you ever found yourself in a situation like the 9 Of Swords? You're unable to fall asleep because your mind is constantly racing about a particular problem or concern? What about waking up in the middle of the night from a nightmare that's centered around a past or present problem? We've all been there (I know I have) and it's maddening to say the least.

Drawing the 9 Of Swords Upright doesn't mean that bad things are coming, don't worry! The 9 Of Swords suggest that you're focusing on the past, or the future. Either you're reliving events that you wish you could take back, or you're worrying about possible future outcomes that haven't happened. Both thoughts will lead to depression, sadness, anxiety, stress, and worry. I've written numerous articles about how our dominating thoughts will eventually create our reality, and the 9 Of Swords Upright is just another example. When you continue to ruminate on what's happened before, or expecting the worst for what's to come......it typically repeats itself, or comes to fruition.

Preparing for the worst and hoping for the best is great, but expecting the worst and and hoping or wishing it would go away will never work. The 9 Of Swords Upright is an indication that it may be time to share what's keeping you up at night with someone you feel close to, or at the very least...listen. Find a best friend or someone who can relate with what your going through, and provide the type of support that will put your mind at ease.

9 Of Swords Reversed

Fenestra Tarot Deck

Receiving the 9 Of Swords Reversed can be an indication that your internal struggle is close to over. You can see the light at the end of the tunnel, just like the moon tarot card reversed. The 9 Of Swords Reversed is a card of release, acceptance, and recovery. You've gained an understanding of where you are, and where you want to be, but you just need to eliminate negative thoughts and concerns! This reversed 9 of swords also signifies that you're ready to accept help and assistance from others. Letting go of past mistakes and regret, or worry from future outcomes can be difficult, but this is the only way to ease your mind and start moving forward.

The 9 Of Swords Reversed can also reflect the fact that you're being far too critical of yourself or being hard on yourself. This can come in the form of negative self talk, beating yourself up over past mistakes, or devaluing your worth and ability. It may be time for self reflection and introspection on the thoughts and beliefs you hold for yourself. Take some time to write down the amazing, beautiful, and unique qualities you possess, and remember all of the reasons why you love yourself! I have an especially hard time with this, and it's much easier to come up with a list of faults than it is to come up with a list of redeeming qualities. Flip the script and see yourself how you wish to be seen. You are worthy and magnificent, celebrate yourself!

9 Of Swords Love

Lover's Path Tarot Deck

The 9 Of Swords Love card isn't very pretty either (really none of the versions are). Being in a relationship and drawing the 9 of swords love card signifies distrust, anxiety, guilt and remorse. One or both of you could be experiencing unhappiness in the relationship, and irrational fears or worries aren't helping the situation. Ask yourself if any doubt, fears, or insecurities are rational or irrational, and how those thoughts are affecting the relationship. Love is such an intense emotion, and it can certainly keep you up at night if you're dwelling on past problems or potential problems that haven't happened yet. Take a moment to reevaluate your situation and relationship, and have a discussion with your partner. Clearing the air and expressing your concerns will alleviate your stress and worry.

Being single and receiving the 9 Of Swords Love card mean that there may be past trauma and hurt that needs acknowledging. Spending time dwelling on past relationships and old wounds will prevent you from moving forward, and finding a new potential partner. The 9 Of Swords Love reading can also suggest to learn from the past and make changes moving forward. If you're holding onto an old flame or kicking yourself for what you could have done differently.....LET IT GO! If it's meant to be, it'll be....

9 Of Swords Money

Morgan Greer Tarot Deck

Drawing the 9 Of Swords in a career sense indicates that work is consuming your thoughts, and keeping you up at night (literally or figuratively). I've experienced this countless times in fast-paced and high-stress sales jobs and had many sleepless nights. If you're feeling trapped or overwhelmed the 9 Of Swords can suggest making changes to how you go about your work, or changing jobs completely. Your mental and emotional health are far more important than any employer or toxic work environment you may find yourself in. Like all the other interpretations regarding the 9 Of Swords.....take a step back and reevaluate your situation. Are you making mountains out of molehills, or is this a legitimate concern that needs to be addressed?

When it comes to finances, the 9 Of Swords can certainly cut deep (terrible pun). Have you ever woken up at night with your hands buried in your face worried about mounting debt, bills, or financial worry? I know I have, and it isn't pleasant to say the least. As soon as I acknowledged my financial difficulty, put a plan in place, and started executing it, I started sleeping easier. This didn't happen the first night, or the first week, but over time I began to sleep easy. Evaluate your finances and establish a plan!

Vibration101 Thoughts...

This is more of a Vibration101 Public Service Announcement.

Our lives are filled with trials, tribulations, and ups/downs. We've all experienced sleepless nights from worries and stress, and the 9 Of Swords is just another representation of that. Without the low's, we could never fully appreciate the highs. Take solace in the fact that whatever you're experiencing, or feeling right now will soon pass. Everything can't always be daisies and sunshine, but we can reframe any situation to try and draw a positive.

If you're struggling with mental or emotional distress and need someone to speak with then reach out to someone....please? Reach out to a friend, family member, or go to the live chat here. I have a contact form on my website and I would love to hear from you, but I'm no expert. Put yourself first, and acknowledge what's going on. You deserve to be happy, and a have peaceful nights rest!

https://vibration101.com/9-of-swords-upright-reversed-love-and-money-meaning/


While my brother and I were trying to solve an electrical problem in our home, he picked the 9 Of Swords out of my tarot deck and set it on my keyboard. He mentioned that all I write about is 'Pentacles' and 'Money', and if I would write about the card he picked out (Which I was overjoyed to do!).

I would love to hear from YOU about a particular tarot card you'd like more information about, and I would happily write about it next. Please don't hesitate to let me know if there's a specific card you're interested in, and I'll get to work! :D

5
$ 4.10
$ 3.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @NakamotoBch
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 1
Sponsors of Vibration101
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Vibration101
2 years ago

Comments

Why do I relate to this much. My articles/blogs for the past week are mostly sad because I am exactly the way you described here. I have been thinking of lots of negative things. I am seeing some light now though. I am soon recovering from this tunnel.

I relate so much and I find this fascinating how you described it well.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I've been having a 'tough' time this week as well. Been feeling a little low, but working through it. I'm glad that something I wrote resonated with you. Lets get out of our rut and be happy, we can do it! You're amazing!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also do my best to go out of this dark shell I put myself into. There are just some days like these, really.. It depends on us to dwell on it, or try our best to get out. I am also glad to know I ain't the only one.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm in your corner! I've been dwelling on a past hurt that I just need to LET GO, but it can be difficult. Your comment is encouraging to me, and makes me want to do better. Thank you! :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi have a nice day here in our side, if anyone have no idea regarding those card are very hard to understand hehehe but I read it twice before I get it

$ 0.05
2 years ago

All the 9 of sword cards is not good really. I want to send this to my friend he listen to me but still he's being so depress I felt that I can't convey him in my words but maybe this article can tell him what he really feel and could share it with me to lessen his problem :(( .

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh that's a wonderful idea! This card was very difficult to write about because of it's negative connotation. My thoughts and prayers are with your friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you sir hopefully he could express himself after reading this and could share his problem with me thank you ♥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hey, I most read your post it is fascinating yet confusing.

I kind of like f posts like this, which will make me imagine and think twice or reread just to understand what it actually means

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yea it was hard to write about this card, and it's sort of all over the place. I really appreciate you looking it over.

$ 0.00
2 years ago