How to create your own Vanity address?

2 26
Avatar for Vernardo
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)

May 8 2022

I just recently learned this vanity type thing in bitcoin address we can customize our bitcoin address with a vanity address by JeanLucPons GitHub repository.

First, we need to download the program and then go to the directory where the file might be for me it is by Default directory the /users/Downloads

After we go to the directory of the file we can check if the program is working by doing a VanitySearch.exe -h command in the cmd if the image shown below is the same as yours meaning the program is working and if you encounter any issue there might be some problem to your end that I have no knowledge of.

Now to continue with this tutorial I'll be using my nickname Lykanthroupe and I can only search the first 4 letters Lyka because I don't have a GPU on my laptop.

the command -stop is the stop the program when the address is found -o command is output file and I name it private.txt we can now see our privatekey in the file private.txt you can find it in the same folder of our program VanitySearch.exe in my case it is located in the Downloads.

I just hide some of the privatekey because someone could probably send a few satoshi in it so I can have a cup of tea (hehe) satoshi is the smallest fraction of bitcoin it is named after the creator of bitcoin Satoshi Nakamoto.

Ownership

I'll prove my ownership of the address.

message | Hello I'm Vernardo the owner of this address my nickname is Lykanthroupe

address | 3LykaXsMhMQYB3A3zAqBxendRsJi32k8AR

signature | Hx/AaqGHsxHxKKd93N1pUdzrO5rPWuqXz8dURqVM2XybRdlDUUbbHg8VaM4mVVy1vzVENNGOtHldMV2m8uy9NKE=

message | Hello I'm Vernardo the owner of this address my nickname is Lykanthroupe

address | bc1qlykaa9gmpzvn3vapzxqgydx9k3ned2uqgrrht6

signature | IDYggKoz9/jkv0dQg0E4dCojvtJCYkeyhOMklKdAQP+GWMZd/I4bmb28LsKb1oVNZRyWcLLuhl6QqZA2ejcLSew=

You can verify the ownership of my address in your Electrum or Bitcoin-qt wallet.

Conclusion

Is it necessary to create a vanity address? In my humble opinion, it is not and such an address is prone to be hacked or stolen because with enough powerful computer computation the vanity address could be brute force. it is only used for day-to-day receiving and sending of bitcoin savvy or technology enthusiasts.

image source: https://www.google.com

Sponsors of Vernardo
empty
empty
empty


Disclaimer: Ideas and opinions presented in this article are solely based on my own experiences and knowledge no part of this article shall be plagiarist.


My other social media where you can contact me for anything.

NoiseCash: noise.cash/@Vernardo

Telegram: @PanPanHam


PanPanHam

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @MichaelBCH
Avatar for Vernardo
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)

Comments

Oh, I will try this vanity address out, but as you said it's prone to hacking, I might as well not. Anyways, nice information

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah nowadays it is only there to have fun with your address. as it is link to your name or nickname.

$ 0.00
2 years ago