Feminist Memo

0 9
Avatar for Venussss
10 months ago

The Feminist Memo

 

We are familiar with the word Feminist. It is a very controversial word because while some people support the word and what it stands for,  some others don’t.  I am not writing to persuade or dissuade you from your opinions about the word Feminist. Feminism and feminists go way back, and all the acts and persons involved in the promotion and progress of this movement should be appreciated.

As this is a memo, I will keep it straight to the point, simple and short. I want you to remember that feminism is all about equality and not female superiority.  We preach equality and not superiority. Let us keep that mind. That is the whole point of being a Feminist.  We want to have equal opportunities as men are given. No matter where you worked, if you want a position and you feel up to the task do not be afraid to ask. Apply for that position, apply for that job. A woman can lead just as much as a woman. While some argue that women who  are fighting for equality should also apply for jobs as manual labourers, construction workers, truck drivers and other heavy duty jobs. It is rather ridiculous to ask someone to do things that are far beyond their powers. We all agree to the fact that in terms of physical strength men are more advantaged than women. We can not ignore the fact that men are the stronger gender and that is why they are more fit for jobs that require muscles.  But any woman that feels that she possesses physical strength to undertake such jobs should be given the opportunity to do so.

I agree that we all may not be ambitious. I will not persuade or coerce your agreement either. I will simply give my opinion. It was rather unfortunate that in the past women were not given the chance to be ambitious. They were not even allowed to dream and fantasise. They already knew their fate from the time they born. It was a done deal. You were taught how to breathe and live for the man you were betrothed to. I am sorry, but I can not imagine having to live like that. A woman who dared to dream was punished, mocked, humiliated. I do not write to stir up your anger or emotions.  I write to draw the comparison between then and now. I have not ruled out the option that there are still women living in that sad reality even in this times. They are the reason I write, they are the reason why we should all raise our voices so that they can hear us. If you are educated and earning income for yourself, you should be proud of yourself. That is something that would have been called a taboo in time past. We were only considered as “mere chattels and breeding stock”.” Get her wed, bed and bred” was the language . And while you are saddled with the responsibility of child raising, your husband goes about his own way.

Now you have the opportunity to dream and chase those dreams, don’t waste it.We might not all be privileged to chase those dreams, but try. You will be happier with yourself that you fought, hustled and bustled to get to whatever point you are at.

Self confidence and high self esteem are qualities attached to feminism. You can not be a Feminist if you are not confident enough to defend yourself and what you stand for. I hope you receive the strength and confidence you need to be who you are. When they try to shade you for being unmarried I hope you can look them in the eye and say “What if I do not want to be married?” The society we live in always seem to find faults with unmarried women more than they do unmarried men. Why do we have to look down on a woman because she is not married? Mind you that a marriage can be happy or unhappy but it should not be called an achievement. My memo is not saying to not marry. My memo is saying to marry when you are prepared and sure. And I think we can all agree that women compromise the most in marriage. Do not groom your daughters to be just wives, do not groom your sons to be just husbands.  Groom them both to be assets to themselves first before any other. And I hope that when the time is right, we can all raise children that will not be sexist or patriarchal.

I will be sending out another memo should the need arise. I hope you see light after reading this.

Your fellow Feminist .

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Venussss
10 months ago

Comments