Paranormal

9 24
Avatar for Uzair420
3 years ago

|NOTHING IN PROMPTICULAR| 

DAY TEN 

CONDITION: Paranormal  

PROMPT: She was still blind folded as she felt along the ground, but she could smell the stench…  

 

Flora was in an unfamiliar place. That stench however, revived a dead memory. It was repulsive! Like eggs gone bad in a river of curdled milk. She had been there before…that’s all she knew.


 Her attempts at removing the blindfold had failed. In darkness, she groped the smooth pebbles on the ground.

 

“Flo! Remember!” 

She flung some pebbles in frustration.

 

“Hey! You don’t throw pebbles at people!” Someone snapped back.

 

Flora stiffened. The lump in her throat kept her from talking. 

 

“Flora! Apologize right this instant!”

 

“You…you kn..know my n..name?” Flora scooched away from the voice as she spoke.

 

“Flora now I’m hurt. First you try to stone me and now, you can’t even tell it’s me?” The voice began again, closing what little separation Flora had managed.

 

“Gra…grandma?” 

 

“Yes! It’s me, your beloved grandmother.”  She patted Flora’s head. Just like she used to. 

 

“This is a dream. This is a dream! THIS IS A DREAM!” Flora repeated as she scurried out of touch.

 

“That’s rude and insensitive! You are wishing me away?” 

 

“Grandma I was at your funeral! Did you fake your death?” Flora begun.

 

“Now you call me dishonest? I regret ever making you cookies.” Granny snapped.

 

“They were chewy. All the time!” Flora fired back.

 

Granny gasped, “leave my cookies out of this!” Granny sighed and went on, “Why do millennials say the most hurtful things?”

 

“Because you guys take us for granted. Even in death I see. I’m legal! I have rights.” Flora answered.

 “And why can’t I get this blindfold off?”

 

“ There’s no blindfold. It’s a simple spell.” Granny admitted.

 

“Sp….spell?” 

 

“You are special Flora, that’s why we are here.”

 

“You br…brought me here?”

 

“Yes dear, there is something I need to teach you.” 

...

 

“Flora. Concentrate. What do you see?” 

 

“Grandma, your spell is over my eyes still. I’m blind!” Flora couldn’t hide her frustration. She was tired, hungry, and probably missing her favorite TV show. 

 

“You don’t need your eyes to see. You have two more chances Flora. Concentrate and tell me what you see” Granny spoke again. More intensely this time.

 

“I am not doing anything you say!” Flora countered.

 

“Time is running out!”

 

“And what do I care?”

 

“You will find how Ken was killed. You can protect the very few friends you have left!” 

Granny's outburst ran chills down Flora’s spine. 

 

“Grandma, How do you know about Ken. You know about his death too?”

 

“Flora, what do you see?” Granny spoke up with a sense of desperation.

 

“I…I see pebbles.”

 

“What else Flora? What else?”

 

“There are hills, and there’s agony, and there are tears.” 

 

“Now you know where we are. Your last try Flora! Tell me. WHAT DO YOU SEE??”

 

Flora gasped and  fell backwards. Smashing her head into the pebbles. She quaked. She writhed. Pain ran through her body. A moment of stillness and then, A SHRIEK!

 

“Flora, Flora, now! Tell me! What did you see?”

 

“Grandma.” Flora began. 

“Where were you the night Dad died?”

 

“Oh I was out of town.” Granny answered… “Flora dear, what did you see?”

 

“I saw everything Granny. I saw the start. I saw the end.” Flora started.

 

“You were there that night…” 

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for Uzair420
3 years ago

Comments

nice article dear

$ 0.00
User's avatar pro
3 years ago

Thanks Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks

$ 0.00
User's avatar pro
3 years ago

My Pleasure Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
User's avatar pro
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks

$ 0.00
User's avatar pro
3 years ago