Positive Health Effects After Quitting Smoking

2 41
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
3 years ago

Hello Everyone

I hope you guys are doing fine.

Everybody knows smoking is extremely injurious to health. Smoking not only affects your health but can also affect the people around you. I am sure that each and every one of you must have seen the disclaimer (Smoking is injurious to health. None of the actor in the movie promote or support smoking) in the movies. The irony is actors in the movies do not promote it but always try to make smoking look cool.

Smoking contains hazardous substances like acetone, tar, nicotine, and carbon monoxide which can lead to complications, life-threatening diseases like cancer, heart diseases, lung diseases, and diabetes, etc. It can lead to disabilities, and can nearly harm every part of the body. Smoking also increases the risk for tuberculosis, certain eye diseases, and problems with the immune system.

The most important which we totally ignore and consider less important is the side effects of passive smoking also called secondhand smoking. Secondhand smokers are those who are exposed to tobacco smoke air and inhale it. Both smokers and those secondhand smokers who are regularly exposed to it are at higher risk of a heart attack.

Thank God, I put an end to smoking and got an idea for writing a new article or otherwise, I would still be struggling in search of ideas for the article 😂. Just kidding.

When and Why I started Smoking

I was 18 years old when I started smoking. Fortunately, I was over 18 but the vast majority of adult smokers start smoking before age 18. There are plenty of reasons behind having the worst habit at such a young age. Worst for their physical and mental health.

Most of them begin smoking coz their parents are smokers and they are mostly influenced by it. Friends also play an important role in encouraging to smoke.

Some consider it a way of rebelling as they think it will make them look independent from others.

I started smoking because I thought it looks cool when I smoke and I find out it was a misconception after becoming mature enough.

Excitement to try new things is also the reason. Some try it for the first time and get addicted to it.

 Tobacco companies play a very leading role coz they always portray smokers as cool and attractive. They try to trap kids by depicting smoking as fun.

The problem is the majority of them are sure that they won’t get addicted to it. Most of my friends and including me were also one of them. We had no idea how we get addicted to it.

I am sad to say movie actors also attract so many kids to start smoking. Have you seen peaky blinders? I bet you will get inspired to smoke by the character Thomas Shelby played by Cillian Murphy.

There are hundreds of wallpapers of him smoking, on the internet. You can google it if you think I am lying.

There are so many other examples of movie characters who made smoking attractive to the audience members. All of them made smoking looks like a fashion.

What type of smoker I was

So, I began smoking when I was 18 years old. I used to smoke less than 10 cigarettes a day in the beginning. But after smoking for some years, I started smoking 2 packets a day. I was an extremely heavy smoker.

My first try at Smoking Withdrawal

I tried so many times to quit smoking. In an attempt of leaving smoke, I decided to reduce smoking day by day. I eventually succeeded in it coz I used to smoke two packets but I reduced that ratio to only five smokes a day. And I got succeeded in quitting smoke. But I started it again after two months in a gathering. I puffed only one smoke which brought me to the habitual smoker.

Final and Successful Try

I would say the main motivation behind giving up smoking is my son as he was a blessing for me. I didn’t want my son to breathe in my tobacco hazardous smoke. It is every parent's wish to see their children living a healthy life. Which parents would want to harm their child’s health by exposure to smoking? No one.

So, I took a firm decision to quit smoking immediately on the spot. I aimed to not smoke even one smoke after taking this decision. This process of quitting was not an easy thing. The craving for nicotine was intense. I must say it was a tough and challenging psychological fight against my inner self. I felt Dizziness, anxiety, depression, and anger for weeks. But eventually, I got succeed in getting rid of smoking. I have not smoked for a year and I will not smoke again for the rest of my life.

Positive effects of quitting smoking

There are a lot of positive effects a person can feel after he quit smoking.

Smoking temporarily makes a person in a good mood with a dependence on it. Withdrawal can cause anxiety and the urge to smoke again. Fortunately, I have completed that phase and now my mood is not dependent on smoking anymore.

Smoking can dull your sense of smell and taste. Smokers have a poor sense of smell as compared to non-smokers. You can find your senses improving within days after quitting smoke. Now, I can feel the same as before I started smoking.

Smokers can be easily identified by observing their dry, coarse, and dark lips; dry and pale skin; and dark eye circles. Fortunately, the condition of my lips and skin are getting better day by day.

Smokers often release smoky odor. The problem is that smokers might not feel it but the people in the surrounding can feel it. Tobacco smoke can stick to your cloth, hair, and body which is really difficult to bear for others. My wife always complained about it when I used to smoke. And resolving your wives complaints can make your life a lot better ;)

Smoking is a total waste of money. Saving money is the most important effect after health. So I saved a lot of money to buy a helicopter now. I am joking again 😂

In the last, if you are a smoker and want to quit. Now is the time to quit it immediately. You can find so many tips on the internet on how to quit smoking. I am sharing my experience to motivate you guys to be nicotine-free.

If you have control over yourself you can do it. I had no control if I can control the triggers and craving, you can accomplish it too. Just find a hard personal reason which can motivate you to smoking withdrawal. There are so many health reasons but only personal reasons can help you in achieving it.

Be nicotine-free if you want to live a healthy, normal, and happy life.

Quit smoking for your family coz your family deserves a healthy life.

Thank you for reading this article

If you have already given up smoking, Kindly share your experience with me I would love to view your experiences

 

0
$ 0.35
$ 0.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
3 years ago

Comments

I think that's a great article. And thank you for quitting to smoke. My neighbor's smoke a lot on their balcony. It's really terrible for me. I feel like I cannot even open a window, because they might start smoking any minute. 🙈

I hope they will finally stop smoking at some point, but I doubt that will happen any time soon. 🙈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you are liking my article. And yeah, I know smokers don't care about nonsmokers' feelings. They think everyone likes the smell and smoke of it just because they like it themselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago