I wish I could have selected another field

1 20
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Article # 114
Dated: 3rd March 2022

So it was a beautiful rainy day today and I thought I would enjoy it because the rain didn't affect any activity today but I was wrong.

I wish I could have selected another field

Yes, I wish I could have. I wish I could find the person who suggested joining the IT field and kill him (Joke BTW). But unfortunately, I can find him but I still can't say anything to him. I can kill him but people will call it a suicide because I was the person who suggested this field, no one else suggested it. 🤣

So Yesterday, we finished our work of installing cameras and establishing a wireless connection with another site. I was happy because the job was finished and I already reported it to my boss. But unfortunately, I received a complaint early morning about the downtime of the CCTV cameras. So I checked it and find out that the cameras went down in the morning at 4 AM.

It made me feel so worried as I thought the rain might have damaged the cameras even though proper insulation and taping have been done to the connectors and there is no chance the rainwater might have reached but still I thought maybe my boys have dealt with it carelessly. And I got scared because the wireless link was working and I checked it remotely so it means the wireless device is fine. So I send the team to the premises and told them to check what's the issue.

They went there and told me that the LAN port is not working with the switch so maybe the POE injector is damaged. I know you guys might be wondering what is POE and LAN. I will make it simple and short to make you guys understand it easily. POE means power over ethernet so POE port provides power along with the internet. There are some cameras that don't need any power adapter as the internet cable is enough to provide power along with the internet. LAN port is the port that only provides the internet not power.

So I took another POE injector and some cables to swap and checked it but it was in vain. I checked every possible scenario but I wasn't able to get it working. I wanted to bang my head with the wall because everything was clear and it seems there is no issue whatsoever but still it's not working.

This is why I hate my field as sometimes we do everything the right way but still, some issues happen and we have no idea why it happens. And when you have no idea what has happened you have no idea about how to solve it.

I have googled it but looks like nobody has resolved it many people have asked about it online but nobody has resolved it yet. So I am stuck right now but hopefully, I will get it working again in sha Allah.

Source For Lead Image

3
$ 2.57
$ 2.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Comments

My mom always wants to see me as an IT person but I don't wanna be and thankfully they didn't force me

$ 0.00
2 years ago