First Experience of Taking Antidepressant Drugs

9 23
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Article # 58
Dated: 7th December 2021

As I told you guys about the bad news regarding my health. Today I will be telling you about my first experience of taking anti-depressant medication for the first time. Yes, you heard it right antidepressant medicine. The doctor recommended me a few tablets this time and I had no idea about some of them and what are its uses.

Yesterday, after reaching the office I took medicines as per the doctor's recommendation in the morning and I started feeling dizzy and sleepy within one hour. I felt like my legs are numb for a while so I got scared and thought to check if there is any problem with the medicines. I opened google and searched about those tablets and tried hard to wide open my eyes to read about the uses of those tablets.

The doctor prescribed me these two tablets.

1) Amivit
2) Zavget

It was written on the packet of Amivit tablets and it was clear to me that this tablet is multivitamin but I was not sure about Zavget tablets. But when I searched its uses on google I find out that this tablet is an antidepressant and it is used for the treatment of different disorders like Major depressive disorder, Panic disorder with or without agoraphobia, Social anxiety disorder (social phobia), Generalized anxiety disorder, and Obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Frankly, I never even heard about the names of these disorders. So I googled about these disorders.

A person feels irritated and sad for most of the day and every day and does not feel any enjoyment in the activities once they enjoy. He may also face difficulty in concentrating, think and make decisions. And in severe situation, a person can even think about harming himself or suicide. This is Major Depressive Disorder.

Panic Disorder is a mental condition in which a person experiences panic attacks.

Social anxiety disorder, as the name, shows in this disorder a person over worry about situations and avoid social events because he is worried about embarrassing himself in front of other people.

Generalized anxiety disorder makes a person worried and anxious excessively about everyday life events for no reason. In this disorder, a person cannot stop worrying about health, money, family, work, etc.

In Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, a person has uncontrollable, reoccurring thoughts (obsessions) and/or behaviors (compulsions) that he or she feels the urge to repeat over and over.

Note: I have written briefly about these disorders and if you want to find them in detail do google them.

Nowadays, everyone would be suffering from a few of these disorders in my opinion and I do have some of these disorders but not to the extreme level. For example, I would never harm myself. I do get quickly angry and sometimes fail to control my anger but I will never harm myself.

I think the doctor has prescribed me this medicine because maybe he wants to calm my brain and maybe calming my brain would help in healing those wounds and skin infections. Thats what I think and I am not sure about it.

BTW, after taking that tablet it felt like my brain is numb. I didn't feel any emotion. I do get angry if someone tries to tease me and one of my colleagues were trying to tease but his words had no influence on me. I usually worried about money, my health, and other social things but after taking that tablet it felt like all my worries are gone. The good thing was I wasn't worried but the bad thing was I felt immune to the emotion of happiness and I felt like I am a robot for a few hours.

5
$ 5.21
$ 5.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 2
Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Comments

How are you doing now? Are you adjusting to the medications are okay? Thank you for sharing this with us, I hope they are working for you x

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am good now. And yeah got adjusted after taking a few doses now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember once my doctor prescribed me antidepressant, which is small doses is used to treat chronic pain. I had many issues with my neck back then. Even the small dose would put me straight to sleep, so I stopped taking them. I told my colleagues about it and turned out most of them either take it or did in the past and much higher doses than me. How they could operate at work, I don’t know. It also shows that many people are struggling with depression these days.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have started taking it after the duty time ends and it was the first time that's why it made me sleepy but I guess now I am getting used to it. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I dislike antidepressant. I hope you get well soon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hate it too but I can't stop taking it because the doctor has recommended it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although I don't think I've had any encounter with an antidepressant, I don't think its something I would like due to the way it's portrayed in movies, turning people into zombies and vegetables. I'm sure everybody has one or more of these disorder at different level

$ 0.01
2 years ago

While reading it feels like you are high for a moment while the drug effects was still there, no worries and sad emotions.. it's good as the medicine was effective but you should not be reliant to that medicine or else you'll keep taking it whenever you are worried..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha, I am not even sure if the effects of the drug are still there or wear off, and it's happening from yesterday. I hate taking medication now and I will quit it as soon as the doctor recommends to quit it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago