A day full of Crisis at Work

2 19
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Yesterday was a bit panic and hectic day for me. Well, my day is usually hectic every day (The advantage of doing 9-5 job 😂) but yesterday was not like my usual day at the office.

Before informing you guys about the reason for that, let me brief you about my job and responsibilities. Because it will make my job easy in making you guys understand the whole scenario.

I work in an IT department so we are responsible for installing new networks, servers, CCTV installation as per official requirements. Maintaining existing installed networks, servers, and CCTV also comes to our responsibility. It's our job also to ensure smooth internet connectivity and provide error-free systems to our other employees so that they can run their official work smoothly.

Our top priority is the Internet. Internet should be run fast and smoothly as our senior staff gets annoyed if internet runs slow or stopped working. Honestly, most of them have no work to do so they used to watch youtube and spend their time watching entertainment on the internet (I hope they never read this article otherwise I would be fired 😂). I mostly remain in the head office but we are also responsible to ensure a smooth internet connection at our site office.

So yesterday my boss forwarded me a WhatsApp voice note from one of our seniors, in which he complained about the slow internet speed at our Site office. My boss instructed me to look and resolve the issue. So I visited the site office and checked our ISP internet connection to ensure there is no issue from the Internet service provider's end. But there was no issue from their end, then I checked the cabling and switches to check for any occurrence of a network loop (Network loop occurs when both ends of the cable are connected to the same switch). But the network was clear and it should be run perfectly.

Unfortunately, the internet speed was very low like 0.18 Mbps. So I decided to take a look at the statistics of user's data, check out how much data users are consuming. And I was quite shocked after checking it. Some users have consumed a hell of a lot of data. One user has consumed 40 GB of data in just 1 day. Other has crossed more than 500 GB in just 30 days. It definitely means they are using an official internet connection for downloading stuff and unnecessary online video watching which is not even related to their official work.

I even gave relaxation to those whose average consumption is 3 GB per day. That is also high data consumption coz they are only available from 9 to 5 and consuming 3 GB data in 8 hours is just more than enough. But I being a nice guy 😂, I blessed them with a chance. I do verbally warn them though to stop using excessive data otherwise they will get blocked too.

I thought most of them would be lower staff coz they mostly do download movies. And almost 60 percent of them were the lower staff. 25 percent of them were officer level and to my surprise, I can even say I was shocked that 15 percent of them were the senior-level staff like General managers. I thought those General Managers won't have enough time to waste on the internet and they would always spend the office timing wisely by planning about the strategies on how to make their department work more efficiently and find new ways to work smart. But I was completely wrong. Now I could not even complain to the management about them coz they are part of management. So it would be like complaining to the Judiciary about the Judiciary.

One thing I can definitely do and I will do next week, that I can block all the entertainment sites like youtube, Facebook and our users mostly waste time on these platforms. It's our fault that we did not block these in the first place coz we thought they can use some entertainment for a little time after they get tired or bored. But we can't afford it anymore because these issues are really damaging our reputation and management will start thinking that we don't know our work.

I have discussed it with my team and we are on it. It will be implemented next week.

I have blocked 43 culprits, many of them asked me and I scolded them. The funny thing is all of them denied the accusations. I told them Systems are immune to lie, they will always show the right statistics. One of the culprits even told me that check my smartphone, It cannot download due to some technical fault. And he was lying coz I checked his phone.

So this was an article about an unusual day of my professional life. And it was a crisis made by those culprits. I hope you guys would learn something a day of my life too.

Thanks for the reading.

Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 3.40
$ 3.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.03 from @bheng620
Sponsors of Usmanshoaib
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Usmanshoaib
2 years ago

Comments

What speed is shocking 😳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the upvote. As shown in the picture, the speed was 0.18 Mbps. BTW this was the speed through the SSID which has no data rate limit applied.

$ 0.00
2 years ago