Something for Which I feel Strongly

2 10
Avatar for Unyime-Abasi
3 years ago

Few days ago, I stumbled upon one of these questions that make me want to tear my clothes and scream.

"What would you do if your husband came home drunk and you try to give him a bath and discover a used condom on him?"

I think I've gotten over these kinds of stupid questions and the people who ask them, what I might never be able to get over is the comments. I took time to read through the comments, I had a strong urge to vomit.

I don't understand when people say men are polygamous in nature.

How? What does that even mean?

They say you can't stop the man from cheating, you just have to make up your mind to live with it and pray for him and also pray that he doesn't do something stupid - like bring home a sexually communicable disease.

I hear these things and I want to scream, then I feel the urge to cry. It just unbalances my day. When will we get it?

Everyone has the power to choice whether to cheat or not.

Is this such a difficult thing to understand? You don't just wake up one day and walk into another relationship, it takes thoughts, and efforts. Things you can keep in check.

I feel strongly about a lot of things especially when it concerns the behavior of humans.

.

I feel strongly about the rights of women and children. I've often tell people, this doesn't make me a feminist, if you want to give me the tag, go right ahead.

Women and children have been abused. You can't even begin to deny this. And saying that men are as well is just plain silly. I never said they aren't. We have a thousand issue plaguing our society, pick a struggle.

One person can't do everything. One person is fighting to empower the girl child, another person should teach the boy child how to live cohesively with the empowered female. Advocate for what you feel strongly for.

When the female child is empowered, mentally, emotionally, financially and socially, there are a lot of things she won't consider absolutely normal.

She won't think it is normal to get on your knees and cry anytime and every time a man emotionally and physically abuses her.

She won't think it is normal to not want to be all she wants to be because she's told not to be too ambitious owing to the fact that she's a woman.

I feel strongly about these things. There's no way you can separate me from these feelings.

I ache when I see teenagers who should know better but don't. I ache when I see young children who should be in school learning, roaming around the street, hawking, and playing.

Yesterday, I was in a meeting at Christmas village and we saw young children carrying a model of the house and asking people to look at it and gift them money, I shook my head sadly, while discussing it with Adeola, I mentioned that most of those kids are just trying to make sense of life they are just trying to use whatever life throws at them and see how they can maneuver their way around.

We saw a group of teenagers, dressed to the nines, walking in twos, teenagers who have no business being in a relationship.

I feel strongly about these things

I am constantly looking for any opportunity to partner with social organizations to solve these issues. It looks like a lot and sometimes I feel overwhelm. There's so much to be done.

Everyday, we pray for grace to be able to do one thing, one day to make a difference.

 

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Unyime-Abasi
3 years ago

Comments

Why on earth should I try to give an adult man a bath? I am not his mother and if he puts a dirty, used condom in his clothes he is a swine. I am sure he knows his way out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hmmm, nice thoughts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago