The Winds, I've heard Them (Part 1)

1 11
Avatar for Unknown15
3 years ago

It was around 3:00 at dawn and I had just gotten off my bed. The room was extravagant and I'm somehow baffled at how this hotel is giving such good service. They even managed to serve something exotic which still made my two sons enjoy the meal. I'd overheard someone while passing the corridor complaining about the bustling street noises but I'm pretty fine with it. 

The windows were showing a cityscape of dark blue; It wasn't that of the pacific abysses. It was more than just your typical scenery. It was a peaceful metropolitan richness that made you think the whole day was going to rise up to your expectations. I drank my coffee to the scene.

"Why?" a young voice said behind me and so I glanced back.

"Why do you want to bring them there?" It was Tora, A young boy I'd met in my travels around this island. I wouldn't expect any native to be this fluent in English. He was about 16 years old, tan complexion and quite the spiky hair, but hearing him on the phone might make you think of another image.

"I wanted them to..." I stopped.

I realized my reason was not so, if at all, reasonably moral. I wanted my kids to be just like me. I wanted them to travel the world, to learn the cultures, to experience everything and to be open-minded.

Why was that not reasonable? Well, Tora said...

"If they were really your children, You would let them be who they are."

That sentence was what really struck me but then again, I really wanted that for them.

"Now, the important thing is you know what's good for them. I prepared the lodge well before you arrived on the Island. Don't worry about a thing."  Tora certainly seems like more than twice the adult I am.

About 6:30 am, We had packed our stuff and set off to the southern islets.

In the car's back seat were Cecil and Piper, My two sons. Tora was beside me in the front seat and I was driving through the tall buildings and the lush green mountains was this golden flair that the sun gave. I smiled, It was a great thing to see. 

But the rear view mirror showed me something I did not exactly appreciate. My two sons were just playing with their electronic gadgets.

"Cecil... Piper... Why don't we play a little game?"I said (desperately.)

"Dad, I'm on level 53 and I'm fighting three Turkish Lieutenants that have a price on my head. I don't think I have time for that." Cecil was 17 years old, I still wish he'd grow up.

"We could at least listen to him..." Piper was the more considerate of them both at the age of 10.

"You will not touch any of your gadgets on this trip." I said in an authoritative tone.

"I don't believe you can make me! So, shut up!" Cecil shouted.

"Don't talk like that..." Piper said (almost whispering)

"What does he care about our lives?! He wasn't thinking about us when he went out with his Ex-girlfriend!" He said in a more aggravated tone.

"That's it! I will take those gadgets when we get there!" I had to shout. How dare he talk about me like that.

"But they're mine!" He dared to say that back to me.

"I bought them!" I knew that was enough to shut him up.

I stared at the road. I did not want to to look at him. I know... It was a little useless to go on that quarrel... But he went too far.

This is gonna be one tough time...

I can't believe this. I can't chat with anyone anymore. Even though the internet connection was bad enough, I could've talked to Penny about all this. It was just about an hour when we got of the dirty grey car and rode the old rickety boat when my dad snatched my Iphone and my Nintendo 3DS. Why is he such a persistent guy? Why can't he just understand that I'm never gonna forgive him for what he did? Why can't he just deal with me being like this? Can't he just get a life on his own?

Now I'm just here in my lodge room. It's not much but he forced me here after all, no going back now. It's got reddish-brown tiles and some really bad wallpapers. I wish I wouldn't have to be here again, It's not really as good as that hotel we were in.

"Um..." A knock sounded on the bamboo door."Could we be friends?"

It sounded like it was from the other side. Why would anyone try to call for some stranger to be their friend? It's dark now too.

I had to do something, but what was there to do? I'm not sure I want to end up on someone's lot being gagged up and sold as a slave or even worse...

But I went forward anyway, I opened the door.

It was the boy, I forgot his name but I'm sure he was the one who always goes with my bastard of a father. He was smiling and I was at unease. The corridors were empty, just me and this... weirdo. 

"You didn't answer my question." He then gave me this very cool look. It's like his personality went from one downright native naivete to a supernaturally urbanized kid, I was extremely unprepared.

"Now, I know you're sore from your dad's horrible behavior but you gotta calm yourself down. So, I thought that maybe we could talk. You know, Spend some time to get to know each other before this whole trip ends."

To be continued...


2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Unknown15
3 years ago

Comments