Whom to Follow? A Celebrity Influencer or an Approachable Human Being?

4 54
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 month ago

Who do you follow here and elsewhere on the Internet?

When I view profiles of celebrity influencers on LinkedIn, I see they have many followers. They also have a blue IN-tag (tail) after their names. Many of our friends have also started to get blue IN-tails after their names!

  • I don't follow and request to connect with someone on LinkedIn, not based on their number of followers or their member status on LinkedIn.

  • I follow LinkedIn members with relevant qualities and traits that match my thinking about life and profession.

  • I always try to follow an approachable and normal human being on LinkedIn.

Who do you follow here on LinkedIn and elsewhere?


I follow decent people with valuable professional experience.

  • I like people with valuable professional experience and who are approachable.

  • I engage with their content, write comments, reply to comments, and so on.

I send a connection invite, preferably with a customized request for connection.


I follow enthusiastic students with a lot of dreams.

  • I am fond of the student community, which is actively involved in educational programs, such as undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral degree programs.

The students are the most enthusiastic members on LinkedIn.

  • They are bubbling with ideas and dreams for doing something new and innovative.

  • When I see a connection invite from a student, I rush to see the profile and connect as soon as possible.

I also often sent connection invites to students whose profiles I discovered on LinkedIn. I always like to engage with the student community irrespective of age, gender, religion, language, and location.


I follow freedom proponents with experience.

Freedom is the fundamental right of every human being.

  • I follow people with solid integrity and contribution to freedom in cyberspace.

  • They are from different strata of the world.

  • Their specializations are also diverse and multi-faceted.

I always like to connect with people who value freedom and free speech, be it on LinkedIn or elsewhere in the Internet.


I follow volunteers and developers of open-source software.

  • I like GNU/Linux and free and open-source software (FOSS).

  • I was baptized to GNU/Linux almost twenty-five years ago!

I quit the tyranny of proprietary software sold by Microsoft, Apple, or other companies.

  • I do all my professional and personal work and entertainment using FOSS.

  • The only exception is that I still use Android, which is based on the Linux kernel but is not open-source and free software.

  • I plan to install an open-source OS on my smartphone.

I try to connect with the developers and volunteers of GNU/Linux and FOSS.


I follow musicians who have practical experience in life.

I will write about the musicians I admire and follow.

  • They are the artists who have deep practical experience in life.

  • They propagate inspiring life lessons through their creations.

I will write about it later in a separate article on musicians.


I (may) follow social workers with a substantial ethical standard.

  • I follow some social workers who possess strong integrity and ethics.

  • I wish to mention that all so-called social workers who work with NGOs worldwide are not ethical.

I want you to know I am cautious when choosing which social worker to follow and connect with.


I (may) follow actors and filmmakers who create movies with positive social messages.

  • I admire great filmmakers like Satyajit Ray and Akira Kurosawa.

  • I don't follow a filmmaker for giving hits and superhits.

  • I like and admire movies by Charles Chaplin.

  • I don't follow filmmakers because they won Oscars.

A filmmaker has a big responsibility to propagate social messages to the people. If that is missed, I don't consider their creations as excellent!


I (may) follow politicians with sound educational backgrounds.

I generally don't follow politicians.

  • I take extreme caution when reviewing the backgrounds of politicians.

  • The first criterion is the educational background of a politician.

The final view comes from their ethics and integrity.


I love to follow like-minded human beings, online and offline.

In short, I like to follow like-minded people on LinkedIn and other social and professional media sites.

  • I don't bother much about whether the person sent a customized invite.

  • The most crucial factor is ethics and integrity.

  • Next comes their field of specialization, work, and other activities of life.

I admit that I have connected with people and later disconnected when I discovered their unacceptable engagement and proof of activities against humanity.

I always try to connect with an approachable, normal human being on LinkedIn.

This is valid for any other platform, be it social media or a blogging platform, such as ReadCash and Publish0x.


Postscript

  • Please do not hesitate to look at my profile and send me a connection invite.

  • There is always a chance to interact and find mutual interests.


<> Originally published in my LinkedIn Newsletter.

------------

About me

I am a researcher and contribute to the overlapping areas of STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics). I am an active user and promoter of GNU/Linux, free and open-source software. I develop cybersecurity and information security solutions, specifically graphical authentication security.


Cheers!

Debesh Choudhury

Text Copyright © 2024 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at

YouTube, Twitch, CashRain, Odysee, LinkedIn, Twitter, Publish0x, ReadCash, and Facebook.

Earn passive income by sharing unused Internet bandwidth on Honeygain and Peer2Profit.

Cover Image: I created a GIF using an image from Unsplash and my texts.

All other images are either drawn/created/screenshots by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Please do your research before you adopt any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#linkedin #socialmedia #cyberspace #connect #follow #communicate #engage #subscribe #personalbranding

March 22, 2024

4
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 month ago

Comments

FOSS enthusiast seeks ethical connections in work and entertainment. It's just expected

$ 0.00
1 month ago

Connect and spread the message.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

After long time I am see you writing.. it's good.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

I have been writing almost every week (once or more).

$ 0.00
1 month ago