Do dogs understands us humans?

0 21
Avatar for UnchainedMelody
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Story, Thoughts, Experience, Life, ...
Image of author's dog, zoey before riding a bicycle with her.

Dogs are wonderful creatures that is a gift from us humans. Some will say they are the living angels or the embodiment of pure happiness and wonderfulness. But for me, there are no words that could ever describe them and I doubt that everyone deserves them, since some of the people who owns a dog, mistreats them or leaves them in the street, letting them starve to death. Me also don't think I deserve my dog, for all the love, attention, and loyalty that she gives to me that no other person aside from my family can give to me.

They say that dogs are man's bestfriend. They're loyal and if you ever need someone that can accompany you through your ups and down, they are the best choice. They will listen to all your stories and rants. They will love you for who you are.

Can you also do all those things to them?

Sometimes I wish I could understand what they were barking. I also wonder if they could also understand what we are saying?

Here's a story of me and my dog zoey

To answer my question, I perform some experiments to find some answers.

Experiment 1: Telling my dog to get out of the chair.

It's our lunch time and there's no more chairs left in the table for me to sit. I was forced to tell my dog to get out of the chair. I told my dog nicely: "Zoey, your sister needs to use the chair for her to be able to eat, will you please get out of the chair?" (I put the "get out of the chair" in bold letters to indicate that I emphasizes those words while I'm saying it to zoey). While saying those things, zoey was looking in my eyes and I'm doing some gestures.

Result: She got off the chair

Experiment 2: Telling my dog to climb up the stairs

My mom walks my dog every morning. One day, she forgot to carry zoey while climbing the stairs. So my mom ordered me to call zoey and tell her to climb up the stairs. I go to the stairs and look at her in the eye. I told her: "Zoey, let's play here, climb up the stair please!" with a combination of gestures of course.

Result: She climb up the stairs.

Experiment 3: Telling my dog to don't sit on the airbed

Zoey loves to follow me or my mom (specially my mom). So, every time she want to lie down in the airbed zoey will always follow her and also lie in the airbed. But my mom does not want her to lie in the airbed because of her hair sticking in the bed. The air bed was used by my brother, who has an asthma. So my mother really forbids our dog to lie in the airbed. My mom told zoey: "Zoey, you're not allowed to sit in the airbed okay? your brother has an asthma".

Result: In the next day, zoey did not lie in the air bed and up till now. She also does not touch the airbed anymore.

of course those experiments were not done once. That is just to prove my point.

Extra Scenarios:

  1. There's a time when I went home tired, sad and frustrated. I just want to cry real bad but I can't. So, I bottled up my emotions and just sat in the corner and stared the wall for God knows how long. I was shocked when zoey went to me and rub her head in my legs and put her paw in my knee. That's when I cried and she just continue rubbing her head in my legs.

  2. She knows some of our pranks. For example, there's a "guess" but really that was just my brother changing his voice. Zoey will bark but will stop immediately because she knows how's my brother smell. She also knows if we're just joking with her about "going on for a walk".

  3. There's a case where zoey did not want to eat. I just got off from work when my grandma told me about it. I immediately went to her and talk to her that she needed to eat. We love her and we didn't want her to suffer and be slim. Later that day when my grandma tries to feed her again and then she ate!

Dogs are smart and I can say that they really understand our language and gestures. I think they can also feel our emotions, if we're happy, sad or in a bad mood. Cherish your dogs (or other pets) like you cherishes your loved one. Please don't mistreat or abuse them, they don't deserve it. Know that they will always love you for who you are and no matter what, will never leave your side even if that side was in the toilet.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for UnchainedMelody
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Story, Thoughts, Experience, Life, ...

Comments