Renowned Artist Sandi Baker Entrepreneurial Interview

13 53
Avatar for TruSuccessXpert
3 years ago
Topics: News, Story, Experiences

This is an interview I did with renowned wildlife artist Sandi Baker for MMAP Magazine. Sandi's works of art is truly inspiring, her story enlightening, and the way she tells it through her paintings is heartfelt. I know you'll enjoy this interview as much as I did conducting it. Enjoy and don't forget to follow Sandi on Instagram.

Sandi Baker

An Artist Who's Work Inspires

From very humble beginnings painting pin stripes on Hot Rods to selling her art around the world. Sandi Baker shows through her works of art that life is a journey and perfection is a winning trait of hard work. When I first laid eyes on Sandi's art work while perusing the internet immediately I was inspired. I asked myself "what is it?, What is drawing me into these images?" It was as if the animals were alive and speaking through each piece of artwork. I especially loved the Japanese koi art pieces.

I remembered having this hypnotic feeling only once before while observing artwork. It was first time I saw the works of world renowned artist and sculptor Steve Tobin. He and I later became friends and had an adventure or two together, but I'll save that for another time. Right now it's all about Sandi Baker and how her story will inspire you. So come with me on this question and answer journey with Sandi. Let's learn how Sandi and her works of art became such the inspiration it is today.

Michaelson:

Sandi tell us about your background?

Sandi:

I have always been fascinated with artistic expression, even as a small child. It is something that has led me down some strange roads in life. Testing how people react to different ideas, visual cues and such has gotten me into trouble more than once. I had a father that taught me a myriad of skills, welding, building, masonry, using power tools and even machinery in his various furniture factories at a very young age.

Growing up in rural North Carolina in the foothills of the Appalachian mountains, my family were of comparatively limited means and knew how to do almost everything for themselves. This level of self reliance molded me into someone who loves challenges and constantly experiments with boundaries. I left home at 16 and did a lot of freelance art work like designing tattoos, painting murals on cars, leather jackets, signs and the like between factory jobs.

I was a finisher in the furniture factories that my hometown was once famous for. A finisher is someone who sprays the color and lacquer finish on the wooden parts of furniture. I enjoyed mixing color and coming up with new looks for lines, and of course playing with those epic spray guns! By 19 I had opened my own sign company. Back then everything was done with paint, before the days of computer graphics.

I taught myself the skills involved along the way. Always hungry for a challenge and endlessly experimenting I found that I could do anything that I set my mind to, and if I practiced and gave it my all, do it well. My shop specialized in freehand lettering both signs and vehicles, window lettering, gold leaf, sandblasted redwood, glass etching, pin striping , graphic design, murals, airbrush and

installation. After 13 years of running a successful sign company while painting fine art along the way, I turned my attention to fine art exclusively. I have been involved in that endeavor for the past 14 years. And well, here we are.

Sandi:

I think that at the core is a profound love of nature and a good intention towards the planet, its people and animals. I want my work to be Shaman like and lead people back to nature, back to simplicity. I always want it to heal, maybe inspire a bit and leave a trail of

breadcrumbs to subliminally induce self healing. I have been through some tremendously dark times and I know that other people and animals are suffering. I just want to alleviate that suffering somehow. I don’t know if I will ever be successful in that but it is that hope that drives me.

Michaelson:

Did you attend any art school or classes of any kind?

Sandi:

No. I am an autodidact. I am self taught or I should probably say ‘teaching’ because I love learning and constantly try to improve my skill-set...

Read The Rest Of Sandi's Story: https://mmapmagazine.com/true-success-journey-books/mmap-magazine-back-issues/

Follow Sandi On IG: https://www.instagram.com/sandibakerartist/

Purchase Sandi's Artworks: https://www.sandibakerartist.com

15
$ 6.44
$ 6.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of TruSuccessXpert
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TruSuccessXpert
3 years ago
Topics: News, Story, Experiences

Comments

Great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As much as I love art works, I also love this lady. She's a hand full

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Her work of art is absolutely interesting and inspiring on the way she tells through her painting. Great you share this article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She was very inspiring, considering that she didn't have any artwork classes. She's really talented. I love how shd loves nature by showing it through her artworks..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wowww very nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Her art work is so impressive! I saw her and her work. She is bless for them who is artist. Very motivational also

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The spiral acrylic on canvas looks amazing. I really love art

$ 0.00
3 years ago