The most embarrassing day of my life

0 36
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

I want to tell you a story.

This story makes me want to cry anytime l remember it.

But l will still tell you

Some years ago, l was to attend a wedding.Three weeks to the event,l took the material for the clothes to my tailor to sew but l was told he had traveled.I came back the next week but he wasn't back.

Five days to the event,mummy suggested l went to another tailor who she claimed knew 'work'.I was hesitant at first but l had no option.The wedding was three days away and l had to appear on the colour of the day.

I eventually went his shop and took my measurements.I also showed him the design l wanted.I was about giving more explanation on my choice of style when Baba flared up."Do you know when l started sewing clothes? l started sewing twenty something years before you were born."

I had to calm the young man down.

Na explain l explain l no kill person.

After negotiating the price,he asked me to come for the clothes on Friday,a day to the wedding.

On Friday,l was a bit busy so l didn't get home on time.Imediately l got home,l dropped my bag and rushed to Oga Emma's shop.He was about closing for the day when l came.

He asked me to see reasons with him that the buttons he ordered just came in that night and he couldn't fix them in time.

I was boiling inside me.But l decided to cut him some slacks,after all,l chose an uncommon design.

As early as 6am l rushed to Oga Emma's shop to get my peng attire but the shop was locked up.

'Maybe he is on his way' l thought.

I was totally wrong .

7am,no Oga Emma

8am,no show

9am,negative report.

I tried calling his number,But it was switched off.

Chai

This obviously is a set-up.

10am,Oga Emma never still show.

A few minutes to 11am,Oga Emma rushed in and wanted to explain why he was late but l had no time for that.I was late,hungry and annoyed.

I didn't even care to try it on.

I rushed home to see over 30missed calls.I was not surprised.Everyone will be worried.

I tore the wrap which contained the clothes and was surprised at what l saw;the trousers was five times bigger than me while the shirt was way too small.

The last time l checked,l didn't pay for a blanket and a pillowcase

I looked at the clock,12:49pm

I ran out to the junction to see what l could do to save the day.The tailor l met started laughing when he saw the clothes.He asked me'are you sure these are not your Father's clothes?'

When he saw l was in no mood for jokes,he proceeded to adjust the clothes.It was not an easy task.Baba was just hissing and complaining throughout.After five attempts,the clothes finally looked manageable.

Or l thought it was,until l saw myself in the mirror in the lobby of hotel presidential;the venue of the reception.

I was looking like spongebob.I couldn't go back l don come be say l don come.

I tried sneaking in but one of my distant cousins noticed me and called out to me.This drew the attention of a lot of people whom l didn't want to see.She even made it worse by complimenting my dressing;She said l looked like a senator.

Ahh aunty

Fear God nah

Senator no dey wear blanket and pillowcase ni.

My whole day was ruined.

I couldn't even catch cruise.I couldn't even eat rice.I couldn't even drink anything.

I just don't want to talk about the meat

I just sat at one corner until nightfall.

After that day,l never wore those clothes again,the pain associated with them exceeds all description.

1
$ 0.08
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Trinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

Comments