The bus driver I wouldn't leave my balance for

1 35
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

This happened two days ago. I didn't know the young bus driver was picking only passengers who would be dropping at the last bus stop to charge them #100. I was going halfway the junction and I was to pay #50. So when I told the driver, he signalled me to get in.

Some minutes into the journey, I reminded him where I was dropping and he frowned. 'I hope you have #50 if not, you will have to pay me #100.'

And when I asked why, he mentioned the thing I wrote above. He would say it again and again and I told him I was ready to drive around Owerri with him than to leave my balance for him.

At my junction, he 'kwechiid' on #100. You needed to see/hear the nerve his entitlement carried. I wasn't going to let him have money with all of that. I held it demanding to see my balance before I let him have mine and climbing down the bus. I told him I'd rather buy something than let him have it.

When he was convinced I wasn't really as calm as he thought I appeared, he let me down to buy something but before I could return, he already drove off. Maybe he thought I wasn't going to. I chased after him, I waved and when I couldn't catch up with him, I gave up. I felt really bad. But that feeling would be gone before I got home. I was glad I wasn't able to be compelled into doing a thing I didn't want. That I stood and fought for a long time. It was #50 but that fight meant a lot to me. It wasn't just about the money.

2. On my way out the next day, I boarded another bus. The driver was an old man and he responded to my greeting like we had met before then. Almost at my destination, he apologized that he wouldn't be able to go further. The traffic was heavy and he needed to get to the mechanic too. And he said I could go with the money. And when K asked why, he said because he won't be rendering the complete service I had planned to pay for.

It took a few minutes of pleas to get him to take the money from me. His gratitude knew no bounds and it made me feel so good.

3. On my way back yesterday, I met a little girl carrying some balls of watermelon in a wheelbarrow and she was too eager to cross the road without looking right. My shout stopped her and that was when she saw the big trailer approaching.

So I made her stand until there were no vehicles anymore before we both crossed. We did the same on the other road after that and the smiles she wore on her face and the joy thick in her voice when she expressed gratefulness was enough to wipe away every anger I have harboured in my heart.

4. That woman from two days ago. The woman who was rendered homeless: I have been thinking about how I gave her my arms. It still shocks and excites me at the same time. I have never had a moment like that all my life and it felt so good. A total stranger accepting to fly into arms and stayed to tell her painful story over and over, her tears dropping on my shoulder, on my back.

5. Immediately I alighted from the bus at my junction yesterday evening, I saw about seven children or more running towards me. They were my children. They were screaming my name as they ran. I held my feet on the ground so they wouldn't push me down. It has almost happened before.

So yesterday, they were all over me. I was almost embarrassed. It was on the road and almost everyone was watching. Cars passing. People in their shops. Passerbys. Everyone!

'Aunty Amara, have you been avoiding us?' One asked.

'Aunty Amara, where are you coming from?'

'You've not told us what you said you'll tell us, Aunty Amara.'

'I have missed you, Aunty Amara.'

Okay... Embarrassment wasn't the word I should've used earlier. It wasn't an embarrassment. It was love. Love in all of its genuineness.

These are some of the moments from the past week that made me feel happy and beautiful in ways that words cannot tell.

It was a beautiful week. Another begins tomorrow and I am hopeful of all the amazing moments it will come with.

Happy new week, beautiful people. May it come with all of the beauties you will ever ask from it.

0
$ 0.23
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Trinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

Comments

A happy new week to you. Let's see of more will read you. 💕👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago