"Life's best seldom gets to the best people "

3 27
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

I heard that from a lawyer friend. I don't know where or how he is now but I do sincerely hope he's OK.

He said those words to me when we were talking about how life rewards people. There were things I had done that made him judge that I was a good person but he didn't think life would be fair to me.

Looking at him, his statue would deceive you about his age, but no matter how deceiving that was, the lines on his forehead, the grin when he laughed and the veins that run through his phalanges would tell you, he's witnessed some decades.

Then the stress and sadness on his face would tell you that the law books or his wife were draining the life off him but his brain was an amazing box of information and his mind was so beautiful to listen to.

I thought he was blessed to have a beautiful wife and kids that called him "daddy", I'd compliment him at every chance I get till this afternoon when he said those words to me...

That afternoon he showed me wounds from his hands, lifted his shirt and there was a wound left by an object with rough edges... It was left there by his "bone of my bone and flesh of my flesh"

I didn't ask further, I just said, "sorry, you'll be fine".

He said those words to me again, this time with a weight in his voice and then there was a terror in my soul.

He added,

"Nse, don't worry too much about how or who you become tomorrow. Don't go out of your way to "over please" someone, do what you can, and please, don't take for granted any happy moment you meet with, grab it, with all of your heart "

Believe me," life's best seldom get to the best people ".

It's been 12 years if not more since I had this conversation and as I type this here, I could hear his voice in my head, loud, deep and clear.

Where are you brother? How are you? Has life eventually changed for you? Did it allow it's best to reach you too?

I hope you are truly okay...

Who lives by these codes?

Does it feel right?

3
$ 0.08
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Trinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

Comments

I sincerely hope that your friend from the past is okay and has a happy life.I absolutely agree with your words that The best life seldom gets to the best people.I know a few such people too with sad life story but they are all good persons.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right, thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not sure if this article belongs to the community SST - Values but I like what you wrote. 👍🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago