I met a boy.

2 18
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

He came looking rather frustrated. He needed help and I listened to him talk.

I have long become tired of listening to made-up stories these very healthy people carry about all in the name of getting help from others. But here was a little boy. He looked nothing more than 20.

I was having a really emotional day too and I couldn't let him finish.

He wanted seven hundred naira. Claimed his sister was sick and his mother hasn't come home in two days. And he needed for both of them to travel to their village until their mother was back.

I believed him because... I don't know. My heart thought he was sincere. And he looked neat too. I had just half of what he wanted and he thanked me from the bottom of his heart before he left.

I got myself back a few minutes later and ran out to see if I could see him again. I didn't even ask him any questions. I could've asked for a number to call to know about the sister and the mother. I don't know. I could've just asked some questions.

I got over that much later and focused on how I would get home for what I gave him was part of my transport fare. I didn't bother about it for long. I was hopeful. I knew someone I could ask.

Well, by the time I was ready to leave, I got seven times what I gave him. I didn't ask anyone. I didn't have to ask. It just came.

Those were the best parts of my day today - the giving and the receiving.

There are lessons that come with every day I experience. I get some on some days and not on the others. And I am grateful for all the times that I do.

I have always believed that I don't have to have enough to give.

I have also always believed that although I do not give having in what's in it for me in mind, that every good we do never goes away. They always come back to us.

2
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Trinity
empty
empty
empty

Comments

As a Nigerian based citizen, I know what it's like to live in the country. We have people who lie just to beg from people. But there are genuine ones who really don't have any. Thank you for being a helper to the young boy. It's better to give give than to receive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thumbs up for you and I am glad to hear you received help too. Unfortunately my experiences differs from your.

Btw a 20 year old is an adult not a little boy..

$ 0.00
3 years ago