Gunshots, Fear.

0 30
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

The first sounds I heard was when I had just alighted from the bus this evening. They sounded a bit far from where I was and nobody ran. So I walked.

An hour later, I took out dinner and pulled out my phone to write when I began to hear running footsteps of people. Screams. And sounds of doors and gates jamming. I ran - with my Mother.

Soon, there were noises. Chants. I was terrified. My legs were trembling and my heart was beating too fast. It was a little longer before everywhere was silent again. We came out of our hiding and started packing up to leave. I was still scared.

I have seen days and nights here filled with worse terrors than tonight's but none has scared me like this one.

People were stolen from. Shops. Phones. A car destroyed.

This place is never a good place to raise kids. I confirmed that yet again when two boys tried explaining tonight's ordeal to me from where they watched.

P.S: People came outside after everywhere had grown silent.

One of the boys said he saw their guns. He said it terrified him. The other said he was just somersaulting. And the moment he raised his head, they were on his face...

You needed to see me walking home. I have never been filled with so much fear all my life.

This night eh. I just found the strength to write now. My hands are still shaking. Someone was killed here less than two months ago and now, the street is boiling again.

Dear God, one of my earnest heart desires has been to leave this place for good. And for every good person here to be safe. To never let Aladinma happen to them in any ugly way.

Amen.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Trinity
empty
empty
empty

Comments