Grace made it Possible

0 23
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

Rom.5.2 - By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God.

Welcome to 2021

I witnessed a beautiful example of grace today. It came in a simple form, easy to miss but exquisitely shown. We have a five-month-old puppy who has been a thorn in our older dog’s side since he came to live with us. The puppy has boundless energy while his much older ‘brother’ contently lounges his day away.

They fight over bones and the best place in front of the fireplace. Usually, our older dog snarls at the puppy’s endless attempts to usurp his authority and become the dominant dog. He growls or simply ignores his undaunting advances to try and get him to play. Today, however, our senior dog taught our puppy, and me, a loving lesson about grace.

With youthful exuberance, our puppy bounded up and started nipping at his brother. To the puppy’s shock, he didn’t growl. He didn’t bite this annoying younger dog into submission. Instead, he gently licked the puppy’s face. The look of shock on the puppy’s face probably matched my own. He froze, uncertain of what to do. The older dog continued to gently clean the puppy. With every soft lick, the puppy calmed down. With every gentle nudge, he slowly relaxed until he lay at his brother’s feet and accepted his love.

I thought of how this display reminded me of my own coming to the Lord. I didn’t come quietly. I didn’t come in reverence. I wasn’t looking for grace. I was angry. I was bent on my own agenda to prove that I didn’t need God. Yet, while I raged against my Savior, he loved me. While I was trying to bite his heals, he opened his arms and died for me. With every loving kiss of God’s grace, my anger subsided, my plans dissolved, my fear melted. We come to Jesus broken. We come hurt and angry. We come full of sinful pride and rebellious intentions. Yet, God’s grace washes away our every sin and every misstep.

Conclusion

No matter how we come to Christ, let us come. No matter how far our pride has pulled us away from the truth, grace wins. We can’t earn it. We definitely don’t deserve it. God’s love is unexpected and so very needed. So, let’s stop fighting and simply bask in the unmerited love that flows from Heaven’s throne. Let God wash it all away and leave us clean, safe and filled with His peace.

Hallelujah

Sponsors of Trinity
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Trinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trinity
3 years ago

Comments