#ValentineDayChallenge2022: You Made Me Whole Again

12 49
Avatar for Trifecta
2 years ago

A love letter to my husband

I love you everything, I love you whole.

When we met 17 years ago, I'd already been broken into so many tiny, little pieces, I didn't think it was possible to be whole again. I had loved and suffered severe loss and had endured tragedy that ate at my soul so that I existed, but I was empty. Nothing held true meaning for me.

And then I met you.

What are the odds that we would meet in a crowd, strangers pressed together by a mass of anonymous bodies, that we would look into each other's eyes and just know that we were meant to be together?

It's bizarre almost, no right thinking person would believe it, and yet this is how we met 17 years ago: in the midst of a party, me standing alone in the crowd wondering what I was doing there and looking up to see you smiling at me, and your smile was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen.

A throwback image of the decor on our wedding day, 14 years ago

You promised to love me and you did

When we started to date, I waited for the other shoe to drop. You were kind and gentle and unreal, and I was fragile, just gathering the fragments of myself and trying to piece together the broken vessel that I had become, I didn't want to trust you with that. I didn't think I could be loved.

But even when I clawed and fought and pushed you away, you saw the vulnerability in me and you showed me that with enough love and determination, anything is possible.

More decor from our wedding, the theme a garden of Eden... for wasn't this about to be a new beginning?

Love after the storms

Even in a bed of roses, there are thorns, and over the years, our love has been tested.

But we have been through fire, crossed mountains, and survived storms which threatened to rip us apart. There have been moments when we didn't know if we could make it, the test was too difficult. But we did get by, thankfully, and what we have today, love after the storms, is all the more beautiful for it.

An Overall Amazing Adventure

14 years ago, we set off on an amazing adventure. We've come together, two as one, started a family, grown together as parents of wonderful kids, and marvelled at our good fortune. I certainly do every time I look at you.

Our first kid, you stood with me, held my hands, talked me through the pain, and after our beautiful baby was born, you came to me in awe, confounded, fascinated, excited by the new bond we had formed. These ties strengthened over the years with every new addition to our family, and as a father, you have stood up to the task and developed as an amazing role model that I am confident our children will remember for the rest of their lives.

Still the One

At night when I wake up, I'd look at you and my heart would clench so tight because you mean so much to me. Your love, your strength, your patience, persistence, romance... You taught me to love the right way. And now our souls are bound together, and I have found rest and peace in your arms. I love you everything, I love you whole.

Happy Valentine's Day, babe. 17 years since we met, 14 years since we exchanged vows... You're still the one.

SIDE NOTE

This is my entry for the #ValentineDayChallenge2022: a contest for love! The Challenge is hosted by @Infinity, @PVMihalache, and @Jane.

I am really super excited to take part in this, I hope it was okay to hop on.

Here's a link to the original article with the challenge and guidelines: https://read.cash/@Infinity/valentinedaychallenge2022-a-contest-for-love-af117dc7

I look forward to seeing and reading all the beautiful submissions the challenge will generate.

It's a lovely time of year, guys, let's spread the love!

8
$ 2.05
$ 1.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.55 from @Infinity
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 4
Sponsors of Trifecta
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trifecta
2 years ago

Comments

"Happy Valentine's Day" is a trick to sell products online and offline. Have a wonderful life and enjoy the essence of love every day. I have read and liked your written piece on love. PS. I could not complete my submission due to some lovely obligations of my life!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi, @Unity, I apologize it took me a while to respond to you. I didn't immediately see the notification. Many people share your views that Valentine's Day is commercial, and a lot of money is spent on that day. I guess, I take the opportunity to remind those I love that I love them, and I try to make it a special occasion in that way. By the way, I found you on noise.cash, so I look forward to following your guidelines there too!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Show your love and friendship to your family and friends on a particular day. Valentines's day is serving as an opportunity. Celebration makes us more lively. It is good enough to receive a reply. Let's join hands on NC. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sweet of you and your husband. I am inspired whenever I had a chance to read a marriage testimony. How's your kids now?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi DennMarc, Thanks for your amazing words. Our kids are all wonderful and they know that they have parents who love them!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wonderful article @Trifecta! Even from someone me like who have just known you through this platform, I can feel your love towards your husband as I read this. Wishing you and your family all the happiness and love in the world! 😊 💞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you @thelostadult95, and thanks for the support! I hope to see you around on here. Maybe you'd post a Valentine's article on this challenge as well? I'd love to see your take if you do!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd love the idea to join on this challenge. I'll probably write an article on this soon. Happy Valentine's Day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best of luck to you my friend. Thanks for participating :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks, it was great taking part in this challenge! I hope to see a lot of fun stuff in the days ahead. And Happy Valentine's Day in advance to you as well. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Valentine's Day! Wish you a great day!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

@PVMihalache, thank you and thanks for the support! Happy Valentine's Day in advance to you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago