I Got Paid Twice and Told on Myself

7 28
Avatar for Trifecta
2 years ago

Guys, just a quick update on my blogging journey. I've been on Hive for just about a week now, joined a few communities, entered some challenges, and it's been fun!

So, first, I've been entering some free-write challenges where you have to write for five minutes and then stop and submit your work or you have to write micro-fiction pieces, 50 words or less. That's been great, particularly since I'm not inclined naturally to write short pieces. Still, I got a special mention yesterday for one of my submissions and I was ecstatic.

That aside, I also wrote a couple self improvement pieces and, get this, two of those pieces were upvoted and I earned an average of $36-$37 on each, which is far more than I've earned for any individual crypto blog I've written to date. And this was within the span of 24 hours.

Listen, guys, let me tell you, I write because I love to write. I live to write. Even so, when your work is recognized and compensated, you feel so good and so encouraged.

Apart from Hive, I joined Medium as Trifecta, and I wrote one piece, a work of pure fiction, and that has had zero engagement. So you win some, you lose some, right? I'm still proud of my work though, but I'll be honest, I love blockchain writing more.

And so, to the purpose of this post, I was paid twice by Publish0x today. It was an accident and I reported it, and the outcome was not what you would expect. This is what happened.

Image courtesy Pixabay

A Rollercoaster Weekend

This weekend two of my posts got a lot of recognition and I was beyond excited, but then, I tried to purchase buy Hive Power through Blocktrades and I don't know what happened, but the funds were not deposited to my account. This wasn't enough to throw me off my high, but what happened after certainly did.

My eldest son lost my money. It was $100, the only disposable cash I had at the time, and he went into a store, was distracted, put the money down on the counter and came back out empty handed. Guys, I saw red. I swear. When we went back into the store asking after the money, as I expected, no one saw it. It was just gone.

So, down in the cups as I was, when Publish0x paid me today, and I realized that I had been paid twice, I was tempted. I was soooo tempted. God knows I was tempted. I needed the money!

But then I got to thinking, right, I don't know who the team is behind the platform.

I don't know if someone would be held accountable for the discrepancy. And I remembered what it felt like on Saturday when I lost money. It felt like my chest was caving in. I reported the discrepancy.

I was prepared then to return the funds or to accept a decision to deduct the money from my next payment. Instead, a representative responded shortly after, acknowledging the error and basically telling me to have fun.

Let me tell you guys, that feeling, knowing that I had done the right thing and that it was okay, it was amazing.

And here's the thing: they did not have to tell me to enjoy anything. The extra crypto was never mine to spend. Had they said, return it, it would have been fine and I know that I would have been fine as well.

Guys, I believe in karma. I believe that every action, good or bad, sets off a chain of corresponding events, and that your good deeds will lead to good things in your life while you will pay for your misdeeds.

Sponsors of Trifecta
empty
empty
empty

Lessons My Mother Taught Me

I wrote a post for Hive recently, Lessons My Mother Taught Me, which I haven't published, addressing the importance of shoring up moral currency.

I concluded that draft with the following:

  • If I looked at the world around me with only my physical eye, I'd never see.

  • If I only tried to feed my physical body and neglected my soul, I'd starve.

  • If I only pursued physical comforts, I'd never know peace.

  • If I acted like the world was meant to satisfy only my needs without any care for others around me, I'd forever be dissatisfied and lonely.

I know it's a very tiny thing reporting a discrepancy, but I still feel like I lived by those principles today, and I am proud of that.

By the way, that delayed Blocktrades payment I mentioned earlier, came in, and not a moment too soon.

Well, that's my story for today, guys. I hope I am able to inspire someone else. Have a great day!

A version of this story was first posted to my Hive account where I blog as Trifecta-TT.

8
$ 1.80
$ 1.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
+ 1
Sponsors of Trifecta
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trifecta
2 years ago

Comments

Al terminar el día es bueno tener un momento de reflexión y sentirse bien con las decisiones tomadas, las tentaciones siempre estarán cerca, pero nada es mas importante que criar a los hijos con el buen ejemplo, la educación empieza en casa, sobre todo los valores morales, que continúen tus éxitos en Hive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Korgueshy, I hope you have been well! I intend to enjoy my time on Hive as I do on this platform as these platforms are really motivating for upcoming bloggers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good job 😊 deserve mo po yan. How yung sa Hive

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Applause, applause! You did good for reporting it and now they want you to enjoy the extra. I want to write on Hive too but I do not know how.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi DennMarc, I mightn't be the best person to give advice on it because I am still trying to navigate and I have made more than my fair share of costly mistakes along the way, but there are tons of blogs about it, and if you just look them up, there'd be a step by step guide you can follow. It's not as simple as blogging on read.cash though, so bear that in mind, but it is loads of fun, and the way I see it, the more you write, the better. Let me know when you join!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You deserve congratulations for your ethical behavior.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was really tempted though, believe me. And it could just as easily have gone the other way, and then there'd be no blog about it. But what I really hope could come out of this situation is that someone else is encouraged to do the right thing just because it is the right thing to do. Sometimes we do things- we sneak, we cheat, we lie, we cut corners because it's convenient. I've been there so many times. And we tell ourselves that it's expedient or that the ends justify the means- little lies to cover over the wrong.

And I'm open about this because I believe that life is a journey, a series of lessons, and that when we learn something, it is our duty to share. And so, though it may not have involved money, I've had to have some very tough lessons about doing the right thing in the past. I am hoping the next person who reads this article or any personal piece I share, doesn't have to have the same or similar lessons as well, that they would be inspired to make the right choices. That would be reward enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago