Finding clarity in solitude

9 32
Avatar for Trifecta
2 years ago

Sometimes life can be hectic. It's not that hectic when you're a kid and your only concern is to have fun and experience the world around you, but as you grow older, life can come at you fast. And as you are confronted with the responsibilities of adult living, things can snowball really quickly.

You'd probably wake up one morning, startled awake by the thought that those life skills your lecturers droned on about, e.g. time management, are no longer theoretical concepts bandied about in a classroom, they're critical must have skills. And if you're not great at them, and your life is unbalanced because you have a lot going on all at once, you can find very quickly that you are confused, muddled, stressed out, unable to think clearly, and making tons of knee jerk bad decisions with terrible consequences.

So, you'd need to clear your head. And if you're anything like me, to do that, you'd need to have an ideal place that you withdraw to where you can comfortably be your most natural selves. For me, that ideal place must be quiet and solitary.

Now, I've heard it tell that we are social creatures by nature and that, thus, we need the company of others to grow and to thrive. While that may be so, and while I do not shun company altogether, for me, my ideal place is some space where I can be peaceful and quiet and alone.

This has been the salve that soothes my anxiety.

Dams or Lakes

This is a picture of a dam which, until recently, I visited from time to time, and would sometimes sit on benches near its banks and read, just because I found peace in its still tranquility.

Sometimes, while I sat, I would see birds swooping low and catching the fish that dared to swim close to the surface.

And they'd rise again so swiftly, the waters would barely ripple.

Sometimes, caiman alligators would also come to the surface, and they would lie on the banks of the dam and seemingly sleep, basking in the sun. On those occasions, of course, I'd steer clear.

Beaches

I also enjoy time alone on the beach, and I am fortunate enough to have tons to choose from.

Beaches can attract crowds though, so I am usually very careful about the times when I choose to visit- usually during the week or early in the morning.

If you can find a quiet and private beach, just the sound of waves can honestly be the most soothing thing.

Nature Walks

Nature walks are also great for clearing your head and working through life challenges on your own. As you walk, it's just you and the sound of the wind rustling in the leaves or birds singing in tree branches.

What about you?

So guys, when I need to sort through the myriad thoughts floating around in my brain, I try to escape for a bit. I have mini-excursions to beaches, farms, parks, hill tops, dams, waterfalls, nature trails, any place where I can be private and perhaps talk aloud and work through my thoughts.

These moments aren't just great for me. They're essential- quiet time away for clarity. But that's me, guys, and how I cut through the noise in my life. What do you do? What's your escape? Or is it that you prefer company and find quiet time to be abysmally boring?

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

5
$ 1.41
$ 1.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.01 from @Unity
Sponsors of Trifecta
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trifecta
2 years ago

Comments

If we can manage to clarify a problem, the answer comes naturally. I have a connection on LinkedIn who lives in London. If I ask a question, my LinkedIn connection writes many sentences but not the correct answer.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes you do meet people like this, long winded but with no substance. Even so, I must say, this response made me chuckle. Is that terrible of me? Have a great day!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe they pretend to be unclear and avoid clarity to hide their mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My only skip is by listening my favourite music. Every time that I felt that I'm exhausted and stressed, I just listened those music to motivate me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, this is true. Good music also helps to attract just the right energy. Have a great day and thanks so much for stopping by. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"but as you grow older, life can come at you fast" .. this hits different when you are at your late 20's almost 30 and feels like you've achieved nothing so far. But just like you dear author, I would love to spent some time alone in nature, unfortunately, I don't have the luxury of living in area near a lake or beaches but if I choose to visit one, it requires me to travel far to do so.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping and for your feedback by @thelostadult95. I'd say never take your accomplishments for granted. And also, you don't need a beach or any fancy place to be along, actually. I should have said that. Sometimes, I simply lock myself away in a room, turn the lights off (might be super weird, but when I'm stressed out and trying to think, just the light in my eyes can lead to migraines) and think.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh! So the light thing when stressed out can lead migraines is a thing then, I always thought it's just me. Maybe you and I do have lots in common dear author. Thanks for the advice though, sometimes I just close my eyes and play music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We just might have a lot in common then. :) Who knows, right? Depending on the music, I think that's really soothing as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago