Life in the trenches

6 23
Avatar for TrenchKid
2 years ago

Here is my first article on this platform after creating an account a month ago. I do read, likes, comment, and learn from some other great writers in other to be recognized before writing. Here we go "Living in the trenches"

Living in the trenches was inconvenient and unbearable to the poor, but nothing can be done to it since they were being fated by the creator to be born and nurtured from the rough environment by their parents/guardians. Trenches area is a place with overcrowding, where several families live in one apartment due to brokenness. Most of the time human waste along with their garbage is thrown in the streets. Many go through different life difficulties which mode them to what they become today. Some survive while some die in the process of trying to make provision for their family.

Life has never been at its best with people living in the trenches. Live is unbearable they find it hard to eat three times a day due to poor background and lack of connection with the rich ones. Parents go out every day in other to provide for their kids financially but only get back home with a little penny which they all feed on. Most times they all feed on "Garri" which is popularly known as cassava flour. They find other food too expensive, coz they could not afford to buy them. The kids and the adults feed on cassava flour most times with no sugar, that is all they feed on every day in other to survive. They never bother going to school and if they do no one is even ready to sponsor them because of their poor background.

The youths living in the trenches feel Education is only meant for the rich ones coz their parents couldn't afford to enroll them in school. Only a few parents understand the importance of education and how it can positively turn things around for their family and their society as a whole. So the parents struggle and hustle hard in other to make their children also Educated but they only managed to do so from the little penny they earned in their petty business in other to be proud of their children in the future and also be a great example to their society.

Image from Unsplash.com

But most youths in the trenches later find it hard to be in the university after their secondary/high school level due to the high fees of the university which their parents couldn't afford and nobody is ready to help. That's the reason why many youths living in the trenches give up on education and later belong to the street. Some of the boys later become bad boys causing chaos in the society while some of the girls become prostitutes, using what they have to get what they want, giving out their bodies to others to get some money.

These are caused by the lack of education, environmental influence, peer pressure, and most times lack of proper training from their parents/guardians. Assuming their parents were rich enough to send them to schools in a well conductive area, and also take care and provide for them what they need at the right time, most children/youth won't be influenced by their society or belong to the streets.

I was born and bred in the trenches, but I was so lucky to be blessed by caring parents and good people who always want to see me become the best version of myself. I have seen a lot and still going through bad moments. Countless times which I have slept empty stomach cos we had nothing to eat and still manage to survive. I give thanks to God for where I am today and where I am going coz I know all will become stories when I overcome all the difficulties and makes my parents proud. I will make sure to be helpful/ beneficial to the poor coz I know well how difficult it is to live in the trenches.

You may not understand where most of us are coming from, how unbearable it is living in the trenches If you're born with a silver spoon and your family is financially stable, you may not understand well how difficult it is to live in the trenches and still manage to survive by not being influenced by peer pressure in the rough environment which we found ourselves. So many things the eye has seen but the mouth can't say, so many life challenges we've been through but God never fails us, we are still living and surviving despite the ups and downs we've been through.

Here is a screenshot of my picture which was taken early last year📸

When you're being fated to be born in the trenches life is already leading you by one-nil(1-0) and if your parents are not rich enough to send you to school then life is giving you a two-nil (2-0) lead. So it is left to you to choose either to give up on life or equalize and win. I think I'm at the stage of equalizing life cuz am still working to be the best version of myself despite being bred from an unbearable society. Whenever I remember where I was coming from and what I wants to become, tears roll down from my eyes because it is never easy out here in the trenches. I hope thing works out for me the way I planned it. I am a grateful soul and I will always be a grateful soul if I made it through all these difficulties. I know I will one day and I pray death doesn't cut the journey short.

Lead image from Unsplash.com

Thanks for reading❤

©TrenchKid⚡

5
$ 0.10
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @Allboy
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 1
Avatar for TrenchKid
2 years ago

Comments

Not everyone is lucky to be born with a silver spoon. We just need to keep working hard and pushing because one day our hustle will pay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Based on belief, belief that everything will change for the better and you will see it coming through

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life as never been easy for us in the trenches. We suffer a lot of disadvantage much more than the ones living in urban areas. Life in the trenches isn’t an easy task but GOD always do the best at the best time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago