Photography - Introduction 

1 19
Avatar for Tomcruz
3 years ago
Topics: Photography, COVID, Life

Hello reader and welcome to my visual arts / photography blog.

"A bit about me and the "vision" or perhaps lack of a clear "vision...about me and this blog".

I know myself well enough that this is by no means an "educational for photographers" blog, my ADHD will keep me and hopefully a growing reader base supplied with plenty of quality content. on varying topics. However, I'll focus on photography to begin with.

I by no means claim to be a professional, I am a passionate amateur photographer, and maybe even an "artist" well some say creative and artistic, I guess you would have to be making money from art to call your self an "artist" that is like an occupational description.

Today I will focus shortly on "still life photography", using images of my authorship, as well as doing a review on the written part, in light of increased ambition and skill sets.

Still life" photography.

A still life, is a work of art that focuses on inanimate subjects, most of the time common.

But your "efforts" and your "job" as a photographer is to visualize, to think of color compositions within the frame, what atmosphere are you trying to create, the right environment and lighting are very important in the process of creating a visual experience that can arouse emotion and feelings.

Decide to photograph an object in your environment, an object that you usually look at or notice.

Try to photograph that same "object" in many ways, in different settings or arrangements. And do experiments in the "after work". The latter will definitely be able to give you clearer and cleaner images.

Take a look at this antique pocket watch, the glorious and prestigious printed version of which sits on my mother's desk.

"Time I"

The next image, is the same rusty but lignifying pocket watch. It is the so-called "subject" or "centerpiece" is also a good word to describe the watches in this "portrait-like" photographic series. Here we see more of the clock itself, but the biggest difference is the background. For this shot I simply placed the clock on a carved stone coaster, the roughness and texture of the background is fascinating. And something to keep very much in mind for "still life" photo shoots.

"Time II".

The third piece in today's show. I've done "all-in ball-in" on digital after work.

"Time III."

It's important to experiment, and not be afraid to make "mistakes", there are things that work aesthetically, while others just don't. Try whatever comes to mind. Develop "your style" and make it more diverse.

And it really is good to exercise the creative muscle by coming up with new compositions.

A good still life is a great asset in every photographer's portfolio.

Here are some "different styles" of mine.... starting with, without a doubt, one of my favorite photographs of all time.

"Zoeh"

This photo is called "Zoeh".

It is named after my oldest daughter Zoeh. It was taken during a stay at grandma's house while she was going through some very hard times. It reminds me of her grace. Beauty and mercy as well as strength and passion.

The fact that the rose is dry. To me it represents the "infinity" of true love.

The next image is a complete reverse of the simplicity and grace of "Zoeh".

This one. It is much more "punk" .... "aggressive", maybe in a "creepy" way. Or if you're in the mood for it, it's a lot of fun.

I called it "The Serb", since the mask comes from Serbia, and it's very Eastern European in theme.

"The Serb"

Then we have very different photos, both with a fairly similar after. This one I actually warmed up after my neighbor went "crazy" and smashed his guitar on the floor, upstairs... it's "real", but "dreamy".

"After the anger has passed"

This dreamy semi-lucid image was taken when I slept over at my mother's house, and of course it bears the title...

"Lucid"

And finally, two still lifes taken this year, after my life and luck are changing. Both of them I photographed in my new house, earlier this year. Full of hope and optimism. What they have in common is "pink", but they both look cheerful and "charming" to me, as well as the last one is full of "security".

Try to think about the "feelings" you want for your still life project, while shooting. But also while looking at the final result. It's great to use these feelings for "tags" later if you publish your work through a large database on the Internet.

"Nelly".

And then. Last, but always first for me, a piece named after my beautiful, karen, creative and smart, smart, smart. And super sexy my wife, karelvis.

"Karelvis"

If you're interested in photography but don't know where to start. Or maybe the high cost of good quality equipment has kept you from your dream of getting into it.

"Still life" photography might be the answer for you, as you can use what's in your immediate environment, and it doesn't really require fancy equipment, nor a studio with all the newest gear.

A decent camera and almost any new smartphone is absolutely sufficient.

I encourage you to try it out, and when and if you do - I hope you'll post it in the belove comments thread for me to take a look!

Thanks to everyone who has read this first blog post of mine, I hope it shows the world from an amateur photographer's perspective.

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for Tomcruz
3 years ago
Topics: Photography, COVID, Life

Comments

Nice articleđź–¤ Btw I'm newbie here, can you help me?

$ 0.00
3 years ago