So, Meet Me Now. Day 4 of 2020

0 14
Avatar for TomTom
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Journal, Blog, Memoir, Writting, ...

Hi Babe,

Jan. 04, 2020

The ray of sunlight going through my room’s window woke me up at 7:00 in the morning. We are still in vacation mode; today is my last day being at home. My favorite people on earth are waiting for me to join them in a morning coffee session, my parents. This is one of the reasons why I love mornings. I get to talk to them about anything, about my work, their past experiences, our dog, our house, about life in general. My dad is about to sip his coffee when he saw me walking towards them. He asked me to make mine. It always feels like home whenever I am with them.

A round table, four chairs, bread, egg, hotdog, and mayonnaise on the table. This is set up outside our house, covered by the foggy air of January. This is my mom’s side family house; it became ours because it’s part of her inheritance. This is where they grew up. According to her, it is just the only house built here before. They are surrounded by farms, planted of different kinds of vegetables. Farming is their primary source of income. As years passed by, houses of our Titos and Titas are built here as well, as they moved out to create their own families. No wonder, we are now a compound. If this house can only talk, it would probably tell you a lot of stories, stories of generations.

I finally have my coffee. One more thing that I love about morning is that you get the chance to watch the sunrise telling you it’s another day to live your life like it’s the last. They are now asking me random stuff. We have the same setup when I was younger, telling me classic stories of their own. My favorite one is how they met each other. There are two sides to the story. Each one is narrated by themselves. To tell you honestly, I still don’t know which is true. But this is the side that got the highest number of narrations, and it goes like this.

Disco is very popular in their era. They are both 19 years old when they met in a “Pre-wedding Day” celebration. My dad is a disco operator and mom is just a normal party goer. That’s the start of their love story. Cellphones were not yet present at that time, so if you want to pursue a girl, you should go to their house and do the traditional courting. Dad has nothing at that time, as per him, he will just bring unripe mangoes he got from their neighbors to give to mom. He can’t afford to buy a bouquet or even a bar of chocolate, but mom still chose him over his truck driver rival. That doesn’t end there, my grandma doesn’t want him. So, for the sake of love, mom will sneak out just to meet dad at my grandaunt’s house. And then the rest is history. A fetus was developed inside my mom’s womb after a year of their marriage, and that’s me.

By the way, they got married after months of their relationship. Truly, love conquers all, in the recklessness of their youth.

They will celebrate their 25th anniversary by next year of June. Who would’ve thought that a disco night will turn into something magical yet real love story? How about us? Where will we meet? I don’t know. So, meet me now.

 

Lovely.


Lead Image Source

2
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @Anonymousone
Avatar for TomTom
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Journal, Blog, Memoir, Writting, ...

Comments