So, Meet Me Now. Day 3 of 2020

2 21
Avatar for TomTom
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Journal, Blog, Memoir

Hi Babe,

Jan. 03, 2020

I have a brother, three years younger than me. Our Mom and Dad call him William, my cousins and I call him by his nickname. I bet you want to know his nickname. Our childhood is like the North and South Korea war. A day is not complete without a stone thrown at me, or a broken figurine on the floor, or mess in the living area, or a lot of dirty dishes on the sink, and when these happen, we knew we are both dead.

He is leaving now for Baguio. First-year BS. Criminology. He studies there. At first, it is our Dad who wants him to take that course. I am not sure if he wants it now. Hopefully yes. It is his first time being away from us, I know this is not easy for him, alone in a place four hours away from ours. But in all fairness, I saw dedication and confidence in his eyes, telling us “Don’t worry Fam, I can do it”. He was excited when we sent him off to his apartment. I always tell him to just enjoy college life, collect experiences, be adventurous but in moderation. That he will meet a different kind of people, some will become his friends, some will teach him a lesson. That this season of his life can be frustrating most of the time; he will cram for deadlines, he will have a lot of revisions in paper works, and most of all, he cannot please all his professors by just doing what they say.

And when he read this, I want to tell him, “Lil Bro, remember, college is not the real world. This is just a preparation. Take it easy, for what you feel right now is not permanent. One day, you will look at this day and you will just laugh at it. There are a lot of big assignments, projects, and recitations in true life. I have been there. Just enjoy where you are right now. Do not rush things. Pass your subjects and if not, take it again. That is life. There are failures bigger than that. This is not a race, take your time.”

I forgot to give him the planner I bought for him. Well anyways, he is a good volleyball and badminton player, My Love. You two should play, so, meet me now.

Lovely.

Lead Image Source

4
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
Avatar for TomTom
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Journal, Blog, Memoir

Comments

I wish him success in his endeavours, college life can be interesting, filled with ups and down , the strongest of all come out successful. From the way you described him, I'm sure he will make the family proud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, he will make it. He may be tired and frustrated sometimes, but he can do it. We believe in him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago