So, Meet Me Now. Day 2 of 2020

0 22
Avatar for TomTom
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Journal, Memoir

Hi Babe,

Jan. 02, 2020.

The Christmas vacation continues.

As the breeze of a cool Saturday afternoon hits my sunburnt face, while appreciating the nearly setting of the sun overlooking from the nipa hut besides my Auntie’s house, I received a text message from one of my high school friends, inviting me to a simple get together of few members of our batch. I do not have anything to do, after our yearly tradition at home which is having a boodle fight for lunch that continues to dinner, so, I confirmed my attendance to her.

It is 5:00 pm when I left the house. On my way to the resort where our venue is, I realized that it is nearly eight years from the day we left high school. A lot has changed, that is for sure. In a small cottage they have rented, I saw familiar faces that brought out a lot of memories: annoying, naughty, sad, happy, unforgettable memories. There are foods like salad, pasta, chips, grilled fish, and of course drinks. The cozy ambiance of the resort is consisting of 1 Olympic size swimming pool, 1 kiddie pool, and 2 other pools for higher than 5-feet people. Several cottages, a function hall, hotel rooms, playrooms, and activity area are in there as well.

As the night goes deeper, so does our conversation. We have so many memories to reminisce and laugh at, so many stored experiences, personal love, and life advice that we want to share. Exchange of thoughts went over different topics. Everyone has a fair share of stories, but Alvin marked the night. He is so needy of a person to talk to. I can feel that what’s inside of him is about burst. So, he did. He has this girlfriend of almost a year, he loves the girl so much that he wanted to give the world to her, but the world he wanted to give is against them. Her family does not want him for her. All in silence for about ten seconds, then Marvin cracked a joke to fill the dead air. Advice from all of us went through but the decision is always up to him, and no matter what that decision is, it is valid. This night is not enough.

Again, a lot has changed. From our teenage look who usually wear a white t-shirt tucked in over the blue-checkered-two-inches-below-the-knee skirt with colored sneakers and black socks for girls, and for boys, white shirt plus khaki pants with their polo over their shoulders feeling good with their high cut converse shoes, to the comfort duds of our early twenties. From those reckless and immature decisions to considerate and sensitive opinions. I love how we changed. We made a lot of mistakes, that is fine. We thought we are very good at what we are doing, but later we knew we are not. We may still not half of our lives, at least we are learning.  Some are starting to walk in their own path, some are still wondering but we will get there. In our own little ways, we will get there.

I want you to meet them. So, meet me now.

Lovely.

Lead-Image: Photo by Miguel Á. Padriñán from Pexels

5
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.02 from @HappyBoy
Avatar for TomTom
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Journal, Memoir

Comments