Finding Her Again

2 15
Avatar for Tigerlily11
3 years ago

I didn't want to hear another word. NOT ONE WORD.

How many times had we had this discusion that became a debate that became an argument that became a war?

I just needed distance.

No more explaining. No more arguing. No more trying to get him to see things as they really were.

Maybe, it was time for us to just part. The thought broke my heart. How could we give up on all those years?

But he had already given up.

He had forgotten me - to flit here, or there.

"I'll be back" but I'd be waiting.

"You have to understand" but I was confused.

Why spend so much time in the chase?

Why set out to conquer my heart?

Why move heaven and earth to make me your world?

Only to become complacent, apathetic, and take it all for granted.

so then....

Silence. (I prefer it.)

then the apology (I've heard it before.)

then speaking my special nickname that ALWAYS melts my frozen heart. (DON'T say it again. I don't want to hear it again. Don't use THAT name to try to win me back.)

Days of distance. My heart slowly thawing. Wishing for more. Longing for healing. Aching to hear that name on his lips but not trusting the motive. (Find a way back to me. Please. Find a new way to capture my heart)

Doubt.

Despair.

Another day of raw nerves, open wounds, eggshells, and thorns.

Time for bed.

My face turned towards the wall.

I didn't want to show any emotion. No tears. Just walls. Don't thaw. Don't hope.

At least we were still together. Maybe not the same. Maybe never the same. But still, together. That was something, wasn't it?

The sound of the bedroom door.

The mattress dipped with his weight.

I felt his arm reach over mine. I stiffened.

Soft petals brushed my skin and a sweet scent reached my nose as the flower bounced gently on the mattress before me.

I giggled.

and he knew... in the giggle,

He found me.

This was a freewrite for @Marianne West! The word today was "red rose". Though you dont' see the actual word - it's actually inspired by it! That's what I love about freewrites. There is never anything WRONG! Just write!

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Tigerlily11
3 years ago

Comments

Days of distance. My heart slowly thawing. Wishing for more. Longing for healing. Aching to hear that name on his lips but not trusting the motive. (Find a way back to me. Please. Find a new way to capture my heart)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

then speaking my special nickname that ALWAYS melts my frozen heart. (DON'T say it again. I don't want to hear it again. Don't use THAT name to try to win me back.)

$ 0.00
3 years ago