PCOS Diet awareness to everyone (Foods to EAT and to AVOID)

0 24
Avatar for TigerBCH
1 year ago
Sponsors of TigerBCH
empty
empty
empty

#PART II - PCOS DIET

But, before I continue this interesting article about PCOS DIET. I will explain first what this PCOS means and what the Causes and effects of PCOS. Actually, I already wrote an article about my experiences while dealing with my depression because I have been struggling with PCOS ((Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome) . I didn't elaborate on what PCOS is in part 1 so You can read the Part1 Here's the link;

https://read.cash/@TigerBCH/my-depression-journey-with-my-pcos-e3c59a22

What Is PCOS?

PCOS is a very common hormonal problem for women of childbearing age. Women with PCOS in which their ovaries produce eggs, but do not release them (they do not ovulate), have high levels of androgens, and have many small cysts on the ovaries. Instead the eggs stay in the ovaries, forming clusters of cysts. This clearly affects a woman’s fertility, but there are also other symptoms that can be distressing. PCOS can cause missed or irregular menstrual periods, excess hair growth, acne, infertility, and weight gain.

PCOS is NOT caused by what we eat. The exact cause of PCOS isn't known. Factors that might play a role include: High insulin also stimulates the ovaries to produce testosterone and it is this ‘male’ hormone that accounts for some of the most tricky symptoms of PCOS – excess hair, acne and a more muscular physique. . Insulin is the hormone produced in the pancreas that allows cells to use sugar, your body's primary energy supply. 75% of overweight insulin resistance makes PCOS worse.

How Do We Know If You Got PCOS?

You don’t have to have all of these symptoms to have PCOS. If you may have experiencing 2 or more with this kind of symptoms you already have PCOS:

  • Amenorrhoea No periods or irregular periods.

  • Acne

  • Scalp hair loss

  • Infertility

  • Weight gain -80% of women gain weight and 20% are not, they just have belly fats.

  • Mood changes – including anxiety and depression

  • Poor blood sugar control – dizziness or irritability if you don’t eat often.

  • Craving for stimulants (sugar, caffeine, alcohol, chocolate)

  • Excessive hair growth (hirsutism) – usually on the face, chest, back or buttocks.

In my case I have only a 2 days period as per my doctor it is also called irregular periods. I am already 4 years married but still cannot bear a child. Because it's difficult for me to get pregnant (because of irregular ovulation or failure to ovulate. Based on my ultrasound result through Transvaginal ultrasound, I have many small cysts on the ovaries as you can see in the picture below. My gain is normal but I also have belly fats. It caused me so much stress and depression. My husband always asks me when I can give him a baby. But how do I do that! My ovary is not in good condition. After my OB-GYN gave me my medications. I did a lot of research and asked my friends about how to get rid of this kind of illness and they said different scenarios. Others said I need to know what I’ve eaten and some research shows that some babies are born with polycystic ovaries. And it gives me hope to get one someday. I just need to take some medications my doctor prescribed and watch my diet also with healthy foods.

Medical Treatment for PCOS and side effects

It is important that all the symptoms of PCOS are addressed and managed long-term, to avoid associated health problems. PCOS is a long-term condition and long-term management is needed. Depending on the symptoms you experience, management of PCOS can include:

  • lifestyle modifications – increasing your physical activity levels and eating a healthy diet can both help to manage PCOS.

  • weight reduction – research has shown that even five to 10 per cent weight loss can provide significant health benefits.

  • medical treatment – with hormones or medications.

My BY-GYN Doctor prescribe me with the following:

The oral contraceptive pill-

The Althea Pill the active hormone pills and folic Acid. The Pill masks the condition as the extra estrogen/progesterone from the pill offsets some of the excess testosterone, so improving skin, weight and excess hair problems . The pill will also provide ‘false’ periods so making you feel that your PCOS has gone away. However, the moment you come off the pill, for example if you want to have a baby, your symptoms may return. Smokers are also advised not to take The Pill even to normalize PCOS symptoms. Side effects was Weight gain, Depression, Possible increased risk of developing some cancers, depending on which pill prescribed.

Some other medical treatment for PCOS

  • Metformin. This is a drug used to increase insulin sensitivity and may also improve the action of another drug Clomiphene (see below). Metformin has been shown to be helpful in weight loss which may also improve PCOS. Side effects Nausea, Vomiting, Diarrhea.

  • Clomifene (Clomid). Often given with Metformin, this is the usual treatment for PCOS sufferers trying to get pregnant but not succeeding. It stimulates ovulation. Clomifene is usually the first treatment recommended for women with PCOS who are trying to get pregnant. Clomifene encourages the monthly release of an egg from the ovaries (ovulation). If clomiphene is unsuccessful in encouraging ovulation, another medicine called metformin may be recommended. Side effects Bloating, Breast tenderness, Weight gain, Mood swings, Dizziness and nausea, Headaches.

  • Gonadotropins – drugs to reduce testosterone.

  • Surgery. Laparoscopic Ovarian Drilling is a procedure in which the part of the ovary producing testosterone is lasers to reduce the release of testosterone.

  • psychological counselling.

PCOS diet can also include the following foods:

  • natural, unprocessed foods.

  • high-fiber foods.

  • fatty fish, including salmon, tuna, sardines, and mackerel.

  • kale, spinach, and other dark, leafy greens.

  • dark red fruits, such as red grapes,

  • blueberries, blackberries, and cherries.

  • broccoli and cauliflower.

I love hard boiled egg. Eating plenty of protein all eggs is good. Because egg whites contain a decent serving of protein, while the yolk holds omega 3 fatty acids, iron, folate, thiamine, and essential vitamins, an egg or two a day can actually improve PCOS symptoms as per my OB-GYN.

FOOD TO AVOID?

  • Sugary drinks.such as sodas and energy drinks.

  • Fried foods. such as fast food.

  • Processed meats (ex. sausages, hamburgers, and hot dogs)

  • Refined Carbohydrates (ex. white bperread, pasta, and pastries)

  • Processed food (ex. cakes, candy, sweetened yogurt, ice creams with excess sugar) We all know that sweets, cholate and cakes are high in sugar, but so are fruit, dried fruit and fruit juices, as well as cordials. PCOS sufferers often really crave fruit, especially if they are trying to avoid chocolate or cake.

  • recommends avoiding full-fat dairy.

PCOS diet Focusing on whole-grains, fruits, vegetables, lean protein foods and low-fat or fat-free milk, cheese or yogurt can help you to manage both your weight and your blood sugar. A healthy eating plan for women with PCOS includes: Four to five meals or snacks daily, including breakfast. Don't skip meals.

The key to losing weight if you have PCOS is to keep your blood sugar as level as possible. This reduces fat storage, starts fat burning and may also lessen the sugar cravings that may be driving your weight gain.

I do a de-stressing form of exercise, such as yoga and some PCOS exercise would also be excellent as reducing my stress levels may reduce cortisol, so lowering insulin levels.

EAT REGULARLY

The PCOS Diet is based around three good meals and one snack a day. You should try to evenly space these meals.

Breakfast 7 – 8.30am

Lunch 12 – 1pm

Snack 3 – 5pm

Dinner 6 – 8pm

Day to day, at times simply dealing with having PCOS can be a serious battle. It can also be really mentally draining me out and trying to stay positive and happy for others. Some people seriously underestimate me just how much of an emotional and physical toll PCOS can have to. The hardest thing is doing my best to eat healthy and exercise but still being told by doctors and family members that I'm not trying hard enough. It can make me feel so alone at times.

Is PCOS serious?

While PCOS itself is not life threatening, (PCOS) cannot be cured, but the symptoms can be managed. Those who have it are at higher risk for other more serious conditions such as Type II diabetes, cardiovascular problems, endometrial cancer, liver inflammation, and a few others.

Just follow the treatment and medication of you're doctors prescribe to you. Don't take it for granted so that you can manage na symptoms. So I think that's all for today.

Let's eat. The fruitful life is a unique look at the fruits of the spirit. Eat healthy and be happy.

Have faith in God, no matter how hard things get, always trust God. lift everything to him. Let God handle things you can’t control ang trust him in all your plans.

Thank you for reading my story. 
Always think positive, and 
the rest will follow. 

Have a great day read.cash team. To my likers And commenters Thank you so much for helping me here on read.cash and spending time reading my article STORIES & RECIPES of the day. This is me @TigerBCH willing to share with you my stories.

I want to connect with other people while enjoying reading different stories, different recipes and ect. see you at the next story. God bless everyone.

Date Published: July 27, 2022

4
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Tiger_best
Sponsors of TigerBCH
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TigerBCH
1 year ago

Comments