The heart pain of the firstborn

5 23
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Firstborn
6TH MARCH,2022.
36TH ARTICLE IN ALL.
6TH ARTICLE IN THE MONTH.

Happy Sunday everyone! How was today? I hope you enjoyed your weekend. It has been raining here since Thursday night. It's a bit cold too. I wish the sun would shine very well so that the weather won't be cold tonight.

Firstborns are usually charged with a lot of responsibilities, especially as a female. This is heart pain of a first daughter.

I am the first child and daughter of my parents. My two siblings are female. Though I have siblings, the load of the responsibilities of the home is too much on me. I take all blames for any negligence. I don't know how else to relieve myself of this heart pain and that is why I have decided to write this. By the time I finish writing, I believe I must have been relieved.

Can I ask a question? Is it a crime to be the firstborn in your home? Are all the responsibilities of house chores only for the firstborns? My mum died 3 years ago. My dad did not remarry with our support. I finished my secondary school education in 2018 and I got admission into higher institution in the town we live. So, I School from home. My younger siblings are still in secondary school.

I wake up as early as 4:30 a.m. everyday in order to prepare for the day. I say my prayer and then get to cook something. While I'm cooking, I try to get some time to read also but most times, I end up gaining nothing due to lack of concentration. I quickly take my baths at 6 a.m. before my dad comes out of his room and before my siblings wake up. I dress up and serve the food into different food flasks. My dad eats his breakfast before going to work.

My siblings will not wake up early to sweep the house and prepare for school. They wake up late and start rushing for school. I ask the youngest to sweep but she will reply and say she will not sweep since she's still trying to get dressed for school. My dad will later complain that the house is dirty. Am I the only one to do all these responsibilities?

In the afternoon after school, I quickly rush home to prepare dinner. I don't enjoy my school life as I ought to. But for my siblings to wash plate again is another problem. I will wash the dishes I need to cook and serve my dad's food. I will hide their food after cooking until they wash the plates, but guess what? They would report me to my dad and he would ask me to go and serve their food after they have washed just two plates that they would use.

It pains me a lot. During weekends, I will swwep the whole house and do the laundry. I will wash my dad's clothes since our washing machine is no longer working. I will wash and iron. He will not say a word but when a particular weekend comes that I am not around to wash and clean the house that is when he will begin to talk that I don't wash his clothes and the house is always dirty. Is it only for me? I am fed up. I wish I got admission to a school far away that I would come home just once in a year. What do you think I should do? I feel I should advise him to marry another woman so I will be free from all this responsibilities.

Please, this lady needs advice. Should she continue like this with no joy like a servant until she breaks down? Help her.

Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty

I just felt I should filter my notifications this morning when I realized @Adrielle1214 had sent a sponsorship request four days ago. It was due to the fact that there was no electricity and I got lots of notifications piled up for me. Please, accept my deepest gratitude. And to @Chelle18 and other subscribers. Thanks for your upvotes and tips. Thanks for your support. It means the world to me.

Happy Sunday

4
$ 1.40
$ 1.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MichaelBCH
$ 0.02 from @Chelle18
+ 2
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Firstborn

Comments

My heart is also aching for you. Though I'm the first born daughter of my parents yet I don't feel like burdened as my family as well as my little sister is so supportive towards me. I'm really sorry that you are suffering from this kind of things , I don't know what to say but I just wish may you get a family (after marriage) who will support and love u conditionally and will understand you too. Don't worry everything will be okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad to know and I felt sorry. Your sacrifices and hardwork will all pay off soon. I hope you can have a healthy conversation with your family about the chores that is unfairly distributed or you can use your authority as the elder sibling to assign tasks to your younger sisters. I hope everything will get better on your end. Godspeed!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome, maybe conversation with the family can ease the burden in you, explained it to him

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am so sorry to hear this. It's never easy to be the eldest. However, your dad should be fair to all of you. You are not their maid for pet3's sake 🤦

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Youre welcome🥰happy sunday🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago