I Achieved Partial Success with Minimalism

0 22
Avatar for Tidbits42
1 year ago

I did decluttered papers, photos and books. Everything went into my external hard drive and a back up. I do feel lighter and more in control of my life because of this. The clean slate allowed for a fresh start.

Second I have stopped buying clothes. I can't even wear out the clothes I have. I feel I have enough to wear another decade LOL.

I welcomed things into my life...yet again.

Scented candles, lamps and more tealight candles. Turns out I paired minimalism with hygge lifestyle. Hygge is a Danish term for hominess and cozy ambience. I bought stationery. Growing up as a child Ive always wanted those pretty stationery and now I allowed myself to enjoy these pretty papers, pens, stickers. I have to say it healed a part of me and made me feel nourished. Life is beautiful and I was happy.

Along with this, is my love for books - no longer the books I had before but just digital copies of the best novels out there that brings my imagination into another world, another time, another reality. I am so happy I found these things that spark joy in my life - art through photography, journaling, scrapbooking, books and stationery.

Another thing I welcomed into my life is saving. With the free time I had in my hand I looked through my expenses and found out that there still is room to reduce in a category here and there. The savings I can use to buy things love and truly add value to my life like nutritious and delicious food, scented candles which I mentioned above which can be quite expensive.

Only later have I come across a book entitled Digital Minimalism. It is making social media and internet time work for our favor and not to harm us as it sometimes does. I have applied some atomic habits. The insights and ideas do reveal themselves, you would just have to pay attention. There are small tweaks and finding out what works for you that you can apply in your real life (Again something I will give the book Atomic Habits credit for).

Oh and did I mention all the time I have now it's divine. Surprisingly, it made me miss work. I have new motivation to be productive and to contribute and develop my best potential. I believe it is part of our DNA to want this, an essential part of our well being and happiness.

You cant just end there with minimal stuff. You've got to live life. You gotta have hobbies, a space you love. So for me minimalism made this possible. I removed the things that doesnt add value to my life, got some good cash from the sale of it and then rebuild my life from that by welcoming new things I love and value. I remember when I was nearing end of minimalism I was feeling depressed. Not until I explore what makes me happy did I appreciate that minimalism made it easier to do because there is a lot of space, some money saved and time freed.

Now I just want to have one huge luggage a 30L bug out bag. I do have a 20L and I find it too small but I guess it might do. I want my essentials to fit in there in case of unexpected events. But I do want to have a happy corner. Ikea bookshelves and desktop and books I love. Some decorative items like scented candles, plants, my journals and scrapbooks. Simple things do make life pleasant to live. And absence or manageable stressful and unpleasant things like clutter, debt, drama and toxic people.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Tidbits42
1 year ago

Comments