Death is the Reason I'm a Minimalist

2 21
Avatar for Tidbits42
2 years ago
Topics: Death

In a sense, I want to be prepared. We are born with nothing and takes nothing with us. I am always aware of my own mortality.

From there, it branched out to other things like disaster preparedness, mobility and moving light and sensible reasons why it is a good idea to live a frugal lifestyle. I also learned to be organized. I realized how all over the place I am with personal files. With the clutter gone and only the essentials left, organizing has become easier.

How it Started

I just want to get my affairs in order before I leave this life of illusion.

Ironically...

The effect was opposite. I learned to cherish every moment, every possession I have and the people in my life. I avoided wastage. My clothes are used until worn out and then become house clothes then rags. There are no more purchases of trinkets and nick knacks here and there that turns into clutter.

On Disaster Preparedness

I am trying to build a bug out bag. In my case bug out bags (LOL). Because I have so little things to tend to, the spare time led me to prepping videos. It was reinforced when covid started. It seems the world is in survival mode. And the memory of typhoons especially the Signal no. 5 sort of scared me and taught me that I shouldn't take this lightly. So in 2022, I resolved to slowly build a bug out bag so I can be off in 10 minutes notice.

And of course cryptos and BCH

I feel so lucky that I was introduced into noise.cash and read.cash. It will keep me inspired day after day and at the same put my foot in the crypto world and build my crypto assets and have some fun too. I wish I had known it a year earlier but better late than never, right. I also found out that I enjoy writing and hopefully I'm getting better at it. I remember representing our school to join a writing contest. My 2 other classmates won and I didnt. It sucked LOL. But it doesnt end there. Those who persevere sometimes even become better than those who have the potential but didnt work as hard.

I may not be able to write lengthy articles just yet. My creative neurons are just starting to get activated, I guess.

There are so many opportunities

Although I cant put my energies on passion projects just yet, I know they are there. That gives me hope for the future while I live a frugal at my current income in my dayjob. I know I have to wait until December but I'm projecting I have saved 60% of my annual income for 2021. I am excited for 2022 because I have designed another way of recording financial data that would make me determine my monthly income, expenses and savings. That way I can determine which months I spend more or spend less and determine the reason and see if that expenditure adds to the quality of life of my family. From this I can make changes and improvements.

Life is continuous learning journey

I wouldnt have reflected on myself as well as developed self-awareness if I hadnt made changes in my life. First, I got my own room. This is where I spent a lot of introspection. It was hard but rewarding as well. Imagine after 3 years, I still havent reached the level of minimalism I want. So I am giving decluttering a pause and focusing on hobbies I want to start like gardening, cooking and socializing with noise fam, getting those creative juices flowing and work towards getting better at writing and blogging.

Thank you for reading

Tidbits42

Photo credit: Pixabay

7
$ 0.00
Avatar for Tidbits42
2 years ago
Topics: Death

Comments

Your article reminds me of the phrase (live every moment as if it were the last in your life). It is nice for a person to live as he loves and do what he loves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We share the same mindset. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago