The Humorous Enlightenment: My Life as a Buddhist Monk in Vietnam

0 16
Avatar for Thurinann
7 months ago
Topics: Spiritual

Vietnam, renowned for its natural beauty and spiritual traditions, became a temporary home for me when I decided to spend some time in a Buddhist monastery. It was an extraordinary adventure, and while I was prepared for the exotic, I didn't expect to encounter such a unique sense of humor.

Upon entering the monastery, I was greeted by solemnity and a strict routine. The daily lessons began at dawn, and every morning kicked off with meditation. Sitting in the lotus position with my eyes closed, I attempted to find spiritual enlightenment, but my thoughts wandered everywhere, much like a herd of sheep.

On the third day, my teacher, an elder monk, approached me and said, "You must tame the mind like a wild elephant." I replied that it seemed my mind had turned into not just an elephant but an entire circus troupe. The monks chuckled, and this marked the beginning of our unconventional understanding.

With time, I discovered that the monks could be true masters of humor. They used jokes and anecdotes to emphasize the significance of Buddha's teachings and to show that spirituality doesn't always have to be overly serious.

Once, when I asked one of the monks about the meaning of life, he replied, "Life is like a cup of tea. It only becomes flavorful when you learn to savor each sip." We both laughed, but his words held a profound grain of truth.

On another occasion, a young monk playfully recounted his life before joining the monastery. He said he used to be a "shrimp of a person," always in a hurry, much like a shrimp in a hot skillet. But since then, he had learned to be a calmer "lotus person."

My life in the monastery was filled not only with spiritual teachings but also with the monks' unique sense of humor. It served as a wonderful reminder that even in the most austere and serious of circumstances, there is room for laughter and joy. I left this experience with not only wisdom but also a smile on my face.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Thurinann
7 months ago
Topics: Spiritual

Comments