Who's Got The Best Nuggets?

2 46
Avatar for ThinkingRed
3 years ago

Simple question. You read the title. Which burger or fast food place has the best nuggets? How about with sauce? In this article, I'll be comparing Burger King, McDonald's, Wendys, and Chick-fil-A's nuggets. If I missed your favorites, drop it down below and I make a part two :).

Test 1: The nuggets (no sauce)

BK

First for the stats of a 10 piece order: $5.79 for a total of about 482 calories and 19.8g protein. But let's be honest, if you've shown up at Burger King, you don't want to feel guilty about calories.

As for taste, why BK is typically my go-to since it's closest to my house, it's far from great. I've gotten used to its bread crumbs so that's fine. I'd give it a solid 7.5/10.

MD

Ok, onto the golden arches: with only 420 calories in their 10 piece nuggets, Mickey D's have included 23g protein and less sodium than its competitors. Either way, for $6.29, not too bad.

The nuggets were, texture-wise, pretty good. The breading and crust were light and crispy. It gets a 8/10

Wendys

For Wendys, their stats are middle of the road. 420 calories, 850mg sodium, and 22g proteins. At least, they taste good.

They look like traditional, store brought nuggets but taste really different. The chicken seemed quite real and the breading was delightfully crunchy and a good amount of seasoning. I'll give it a 7/10

CFA

First, their stats. They offer 10 pc nuggets so I just divided 3 from all their 30-piece orders to get 323 calories and 34g protein. While this may seem pretty good, keep in mind they also have the highest sodium count at 1220 mg.

So Chick-fil-a's nuggets are very different from the others on this list. Firstly, they taste more like fried chicken than chicken nuggets which, in a way makes perfect sense (cause you know, nuggets are just fried chicken) but fast food places never seem to do that. By themselves, the chicken is pretty good; they're soft but have crunchy edges and a pretty good taste. I'd give it a 9/10

Test 2: The nuggets (with BBQ)

Now for the sauce.

BK

The sauce itself had a salty ting and a decent spot of sweetness. As I've said, I'm most accustomed to the burger king sauce so I'll add 1 point to Burger King's score for a total of 8.5/10

MD

McDonalds' sauce is kinda bland. No kick and it kinda tasted like ketchup with sweet vinegar. Not really good so I'll add 0.5 to its score for a final grade of 8.5/10

Wendys

Wendys also has a kinda boring sauce; it was like McDonald's' but a bit sweeter. I think it was about the same so I'll add 0.5 to its score so Wendys gets a 7.5/10 from me.

CFA

Alrighty, Chick-fil-A and its sauces came through! The BBQ is a bit more tomato-y but it still was really good. It had a spicy edgy to it for for that I'll reward them an extra 1.5 points for a final grade of 10.5/10!

So I've concluded that Chick-fil-A has the best nuggets, despite (unpopular opinion), having kinda dry chicken sandwiches. Do you agree with my list?

3
$ 0.18
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FOODMENT.
$ 0.01 from @washing-correct-difficult-shirt
Sponsors of ThinkingRed
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThinkingRed
3 years ago

Comments

If I'm in the mood for chicken nuggets I usually get McDonald's since they're still decent and cheap, but I do agree with ChickFilA having the best ones. However, ChickFilA

having kinda dry chicken sandwiches

I 100% agree with. Why is no one talking about this?? I swear, ChickFilA is the only place I get pickles on a sandwich because it needs the moisture from them so I don't choke on it, lol!

OMG Yes! You're honestly the first person who's ever admitted to the dehydrated chicken at ChickFilA xD.

$ 0.00
3 years ago