Rant about Numbers

0 22
Avatar for ThinkingRed
3 years ago

Numbers. As a self-proclaimed math enthusiastic and a superstitious athlete, numbers play a huge role in my life. On the sports side, I'll only play in jerseys with an odd number. That means for standard sports that only offer number 1-100 where number 1 is reserved for goalies and no one actually wants to be caught in a number greater than 30, that left me with the number 4, 9, 16, and 25 to choose from. Oddly enough, I have a special connection with 3 of those choices - I was born on the 9th of a month and my sister was born on the 25 of that same month and I have a family of 4. Of course when you find I pattern you quickly see a whole slurry of them: my house number is 7 which is the difference between 16 and 9, 25 - 9 is 16 which is still a square number which means that my sister and I are ultimate squares (pathogens triplets for the math nerds), and finally, if you squish the number 4 against the number 9, you get another square, 49 making these 4 (haha) square the tightest knit group of squares ever. Unsurprisingly I've actually never had any trouble securing one of these numbers seeing as, though the first 11 numbers are highly coveted, no one really cares about number greater than 13 (13 of course because Alex Morgan turned that into a lucky number).

However, let's move onto my mathy side. On that side, I'm still happy for the nice squares with the perfect easy to identify factoring pairs but still, they become significantly less interesting in the long run. As a mathematician, my favorite number is one of the weird irrational numbers but because I'm not basic, it's not pi, it's e. That's right we found pi's missing piece :). e is a beautiful number that when taken to the power of ipi becomes -1, an elegant solution to a not so elegant expression. That simple beauty is something that we can all admire.

Hello, this is me testing the most dangerous writing app. I found this app from my English teacher who'd suggested it to anyone who struggled to put words on paper. He suggested since this app/website forces you to throw whatever thoughts you have on paper right away, you do not have time to sit and ponder and debate whether it is a good idea or not. You just think, type, repeat until time is up. If you stop to think, your words fade away and all your thoughts are lost. This is similar to if you think about something and it slowly slips away from you until you're left grasping onto a flicker of an idea that can no longer materialize. Just a blank, empty feeling that you're missing something. Anywho, hope you enjoyed something a bit different than the usual sciency stuff I post :) 



1
$ 0.21
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @FOODMENT.
Sponsors of ThinkingRed
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThinkingRed
3 years ago

Comments