The Making: 54 Battalion

0 15
Avatar for The_primer
3 years ago

The title might sound crazy to almost everyone reading this article but the title makes me reminisce about how the soldiers at my alma matter disrupted the students protest in 2018.

Something similar happened a few months ago, the bloody #ENDSARS protest spread like wildfire around Nigeria forcing businesses, schools, and the economy to shut down again💔

I was home, everyone was home, except for those who went out to protest. My family had just moved to a new home, we had only spent a week in the new environment when the protest began. The environment is a mangrove swap with distinctive creatures showing up each time, from fishes to reptiles,. birds, amphibians, monkeys and so on.

My little sisters and I began picking snails in the surrounding, they said they wanted to keep it and raise it. So I helped them out. During that period we had picked 54 snails which we do feed every day. Rearing snails is quite easy and fun😀, the animals don't disturb at all. They only make silent-sounds (if you're not watching them you won't notice the sound they make). We feed them mostly vegetables and some grinded cereals. The kids hope to see them grow bigger by Christmas, and as I speak they're doing well.

I named the snails 54-battalion because we found them days after a battalion was ordered to kill innocent protesters at the Lekki Toll gate in Lagos. May their souls rest well♥️

3
$ 2.53
$ 2.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of The_primer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The_primer
3 years ago

Comments