My Entrepreneurship Journey 6

0 23

On the 23rd day at Cameroon, we were still guest at Mr Shalom's bride house. We were running out of time just a week to go and we had to train youths in two other cities which were Buea and Limbe. Three days per city, as it were there was no time to waste.

After the uneventful experience that happened with the french police the previous day, we carefully checked for all necessary documents, passports, yellow cards, and training invitation letter. As soon as we checked everything, we had our breakfast, chocolate bread with tea, so yummy. Once we were done, we got inide the car, myself, my partner, the CEO of glowtowers, and his secretary. Off we zoomed to Limbe.

Our Journey from Douala to Limbe was about three hours drive. Limbe, Cameroon is an island located in the southern part of Cameroon. Douala is at central like wise the capital Yaounde, Bamenda was in the north (around the highlands of Cameroon). On our way we saw beautiful landscapes, different orchids, palm trees, and different cultural artefacts like the Cameroon statue, a huge robot made of metals, and other cool stuffs.

On arriving at Limbe, we could feel the cool breeze and see the high sea from afar. We were entertained with palm wine and some roasted fish. My partner and I were told to wait at the lobby of a commercial building or sort of a government house. After waiting for hours, the CEO came back with an angry look on his face. Immediately I knew something was wrong but he didn't say it. He rather decided to give us a tour round the sea shore. We saw beautiful carved canoes at the shore, women catching fishes while some smoking them, I saw kids carving out small canoes, and I was amazed at their talent. We were told the sea leads to the gulf if guinea.

After touring, my partner asked about the training. Was it going to commence tomorrow or when? He was curious just like me, then the CEO took breath. He said he doesn't think the training in Limbe woukd start this week, maybe they'd be ready for Limbe when we've travelled to our country. I wasn't surprised this time around, and I said it was cool. We bought a few things and we went to the car. We headed home, this time around there was no traffic, we saw the same amazing landscape and farmlands, and we watch few traders hawk on the road.

We got home late in the evening, the CEO said we were going to have a discussion after dinner. And after dinner we talked. He said he knows we're running out if time, he asked if we could stay for one more week. Hell NO! My partner replied, he was getting furious. I pat him in the back to calm him down. I reminded the CEO about our deal which was only going to last for thirty days. Then he nodded in affirmation. I spoke about the balance. He said everything would be sorted out soon but he was still waiting for the students in Buea, and since we agreed to reduce the training fees, then there would be a little deduction in our balance of 450,000 CFA. He said we would be paid 350, 000 CFA. We said it was fine, as long as the training at Buea goes on.

Our 24th day at Cameroon was uneventful, we were just home, resting. And hoping the students at Buea show uo for their training.

On the 25th day, they were positive signs form the students, some had made their payment, I knew the organizers were going to lose big time if we insisted on doing the Grand training for less than a dozen youths. It wasn't suppose to be that way. It was meant to be huge, with large crowd. Meanwhile, myself and my partner were preparing to further our education. I wanted to change my course of study. I wanted to become a physiologist. So I applied for B.Sc physiology with an option for masters degree. My partner on the other hand was going to complete his HND in horticultural technology. So we already had plans, we had to return to Nigeria as soon as possible for due processing.

On the 26th day, still no news about the training. We were told some PR agents were working on the publicity but it was already too late. Nonetheless the CEO remained optimistic.

On the 27th day, both the students and their principals requested to postpone the Grand training for a week. I felt bad for a moment, I won't be getting the teach them, speak to them, we couldn't wait for a week more. We were surely leaving in a few days time. The Grand training would be happening when we were gone, without us. That hurt me the most but life goes on. The CEO and his team were going to train the students themselves on our behalf.

On the 28th day at Cameroon, we decided to pay the students a surprise visit, we arrived at the school, visited fhe principal. He wss happy to see us once more before we travelled home. He told us his short story, and we he cracked little jokes. He was a plain man and has won numerous awards for himself and his school, the university of Buea, Cameroon. All the senior students were assembled in a hall, we got to speak to them. I was a bit shy but I was happy seeing them. We took pictures, gave them our social media handles, we told them to expect something amazing at the training. We told them not to feel bad because we already had to leave the country. I promised to come back to the country (Cameroon) and also hope that they do well in their forth coming examination. That night we had another meeting with the CEO, he was meant to pay us 450, 000 CFA but to our surprise he paid 250,000 CFA. He promised to send the balance on the completion of the Grand training at Buea. We couldn't argue with him. We accepted and he arranged a driver for our departure the following day.

On the 29th day. We were still at Douala. We woke up with a feeling of both happy and sad, fulfilled and unfulfilled. How do I explain to my parents that my business trip wasn't successful? That question popped up in my head but I chose to ignore it. We waited for hours but the driver didn't show up. My partner got upset. Our journey was going to take two days, and we haven't started. Remember the Ambazonians, the hoodlums calling themselves freedom fighters, yes! We didn't want to encounter them on our journey home. The driver later showed up late in the evening but we already cancelled our trip for that day. We weren't going to risk our lives again. Travelling at night is dangerous, and just like my mom has warned but I didn't listen.

It became an issue between the CEO, his family and us. We said we won't be traveling that day. It was already sunset. What if we encountered the Ambazonians? We might get killed! It wasn't a negative thought. We were being thoughtful and wiser, staying in Cameroon for 29days and we've encountered hoodlums and also had issues with french police. We needed to be extra careful. After much pleas and argument, we decided to move that evening.

I was scared but I prayed hard as we travelled from Douala to Bamenda that night. The journey was a long one. It was a six hours journey, we saw burnt cars on the highway, my partner began to say his prayers .loud😅 Nothing happened on the highway until we got to the border of Bamenda. It was the demarcation between the french region and the English speaking region. An English police stepped forward to do the checkup, everything was good, and then we moved on. We got to the CEO's parents house in Bamenda at about 11: 45pm. We were so exhausted from the long ride, we took some snacks then off to bed.

The following morning, it was our 30th day in Cameroon. Don't forget Bamenda was close to the Cameroon mountains. And the mountains were the boundary between Cameroon and Nigeria. We would be going home by a car, the same way we came, through the same route. We said our prayers before we left the house, the CEO s mother was almost in tears as we took our lugages to the car. We hugged all the family members including the CEO, and then off we go...

We had confidence travelling in the morning, everything was crystal clear, no sign of rebellious militants on the highway. Police were at their respective checkpoints. It was a nice ride back to the Cameroon border. On getting to the border, we were so excited. The thoughts of home filled out minds, Nigeria was only a stone throw away from the Cameroon border. We exchanged our CFAs (Cameroon currency) into NGN( Nigeria naira). We had about 150k with us after the exchange. Our passports were stanoed and then we zoomed into Nigeria.

We were at Ikom, Calabar. Then we hesitantly went to the bus terminal for Lagos. We boarded the bus, and off we zoomed to Lagos. It was a twelve hour journey but the joy of getting home didn't make ne feel the pain in my butt. We got to Lagos safely, at night, around 7pm. It was time for myself and my gallant partner to oath ways. He stayed in a different locality around Lagos, Nigeria. We shared the balance equally, and then we went our separate ways.

I got home safely, so did my business partner. The CEO later sent our balance after four months, and till today we still share a good relationship. That was how my entrepreneurship journey kicked off

I hope you enjoyed the story 😍

Now I've been an entrepreneur for close to two years now, striving through the good and bad times. One day we will succeed, all of us💯

Thanks for reading.

1
$ 0.33
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of The_primer
empty
empty
empty

Comments