My Entrepreneurship Journey 1

0 23
Avatar for The_primer
3 years ago

I'd like to use the first few weeks in this new year to reflect on my past activities, most especially my entrepreneurship journey. Stay tuned and enjoy ❤️

I've always had big dreams, and I've also had chances or opportunities that would take me to where I want to be. I'm a very social person and so my personality earned me trust among my peers. Before I graduated from my alma mater, I was always thinking of what to do when I graduate. I studied horticultural technology and I knew securing a job with my certificate was going to be a very difficult task. In my country, environmental science courses are not a big deal. They value them lesser than other courses like engineering, medicine, pharmacy, law, education, financial accounting, business administration, computer science and others. Agriculture and environmental related courses are considered to be of less important, so I had to find a way to prosper after graduation.

While in school nothing came up. During my industrial training (IT) days, I worked for a woman in a cosmopolitan area, she sells flower vases, artificial and exotic plants, fertilizers, and interior design equipments. She opened my eyes to the world of business. Mhen, i loved it. I liked the way she was on her own, not under any boss, and most importantly doing what she loves at her own time but little did I know that the world of business is much more than that.

So I graduated with a second class upper, a not so good grade. I applied for job in almost every firm in my locality but I was never called back. Months passed and a friend called me, saying be saw a post on twitter that a laundry man was needed somewhere in my locality. So I signed up, and I was called for the interview. At the interview, we were just three. The third person just finished his interview, and there I was so anxious and sweaty. Till I was called upon, when j got to the lady's office, she asked for my name and other personal bio, she said I was young and that I lack experience for the job. I was beginning to get scared because I need a job badly. I needed the money for my upkeep. So I told her I was a fresh graduate, then she became more interested in me and my files. After flaunting through the pages if my folder, she asked " can you tell me who a receptionist is? To my greatest surprise I burst into laughter, I wasn't expecting such a question from her. I calmed myself, asked for her forgiveness and answered her question and going extra by telling her the duties of a receptionist. She was impressed, it could tell on her face. I knew I was going to get lucky, and probably secure a job in the laundry firm which I did. After the interview, the lady asked if a pay of 25,000 Nigerian naira would be a fair salary. Yes of course! It was higher than the minimum wage set by the federal government. The minimum wage then was 18,000 Nigerian naira, and I was offered 25,000. It was a huge amount to me and I hesitantly accepted the offer. I was employed instantly, and the following day, I started working as a receptionist in a laundry firm.

I spent most time preparing cash book at my workspace or desk. The laundry business was booming, daily I recorded thousands of naira but I lacked some necessary skills to avoid being humiliated by customers and my boss. Firstly, it was my first job after school, and I was just 17. Still very young, I lacked the skills required to be a receptionist. I couldn't relate to customers well, I couldn't handle their clothes property and updating the cash book regularly was quite tedious, and so I made a whole lot of mistakes. Just a week as a receptionist and i was already loosing my feet. My boss (the lady who did the interview for me) taught me a few things particularly how to update the cash book, and the easiest way to do it. She also taught me how to handle the newly brought laundries, which was by tagging.

Tagging- Each customer is given an invoice which contains the deception of their wears, the price, date brought, and date to be delivered, plus a unique code. The unique code is written down on a tape, which is immediately attached to all their clothes for individual customers.

After teaching me all these for a few days, she started demanding more form me.in tens of my communication skills, I was a bit shy, and always carried away by my thoughts. So she demanded more form me...

To be continued.

Stay tuned ❇️

1
$ 5.02
$ 5.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of The_primer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The_primer
3 years ago

Comments