Discarded Education

0 10
Avatar for The_primer
3 years ago

Structured and flexible education should be fundamental in every country for the betterment of the human race, because education is "a one in a million weapon"

As at today, the West African Examination Council has conducted it's annual examination and thousands of public school students failed. I asked myself how come? They had months to prepare...Why did they still fail? As a Nigerian student, I already had my answers the moment I asked myself those questions. Majority of the public schools lack a proper teaching curriculum, since I graduated from secondary school in 2016 nothing has been updated in the syllabus. They students are being taught the same thing year-in year-out. You can't progress if you don't change, you can't match the global standard if you don't update the curriculum.

Aside the curriculum, the students I see nowadays lack the zeal to learn. They'd say it's not fun, it's boring, they teach them stuffs that aren't useful. I partially agree with them but like Aristotle would say " when the student is ready, the teacher would appear" Technology is here to stay, giving all these excuses this era only shows the unseriousness and a deep hole in the Nigerian educational sector.

The poverty stats in the country is still quite high (about 68%) but three out of five households have a smartphone. With the issue of strike always hovering in the air, the new-normal in the society is to fend for money. Money for general upkeep, money for your family's needs, and money for personal needs. This new normal is widely practised in Nigeria, and has lead to the intimidation of youths to join secret societies and the forever increasing population of cyber fraudsters popularly known as "YAHOO BOYS"

Yes! Internet fraudsters!

I saw young students between the age of 8-20 wasting their previous time trying to find a client online, clients they call MAGA. I saw a 12 year old, telling his parents he needs a smartphone that he wants to find a maga . I couldn't believe my ears, I was shocked and pained as to what the society is turning young Nigerian students into, I strongly know that it has to do with peer group intimidation, although the country has been in jeopardy, and there's hardship but it should never be a reason for you to endulge is criminal act. Stealing, swindling, kidnapping, and other sort of negative acts are never a bold step in pursuing your dreams or success. You're only making your life and the lives of those around in mess.

It's high time a change is made in the society, it's time to put an end to all the cyber shits you and your friends are doing. It's time to make your life peaceful, it's time to write your wrongs, it's time to clean the country you've messed up.

It's time for change.

#Updated

@The_primer

2
$ 0.40
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of The_primer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The_primer
3 years ago

Comments