Top Five Facts I Have Learned about Bitcoin Cash - Beginner's View

10 49

I think I have mentioned in every article I published that I am new in the world of Bitcoin Cash or just the whole cryptocurrency society. I have been allotting most of my time learning the different aspects of cryptocurrency. I did found out a lot of info about it like Altcoins and Erc20 which I will be reading more of because to be honest I am still bit confused.

Anyways, I have noticed that read.cash is actually more of promoting not just cryptocurrency but a very specific coin called Bitcoin Cash or mostly popularly known as BCH. So as a loyal read.cash user and lover, I started learning about BCH more than the other coins. I don't even know what really is a Bitcoin because I started immediately with Bitcoin Cash.

Image source from Yahoo News

So on this article, I will be sharing to you the first five facts or information I learned about Bitcoin Cash.

A lot of people here on read.cash is crypto-addicts so you might be very technical and observant about what you're going to read in here today but I just want to remind you again - I am new and please take it easy on me. I am open for new learnings every day.

I might be putting in some information here that I might have misunderstood the meaning of and it would be great and a pleasure if you correct it on the comments.

So with all these being said, let me go ahead and share the things I have learned about Bitcoin Cash.

Image source from FX Empire

TOP FIVE: The origin of Bitcoin Cash

Image source from Adobe Stock

I already expected that the first thing that I would be learning about Bitcoin Cash is its origin - like where it came from or who created it. To be honest there was a lot of things that I did not understood. But I will be listing the information that I found out about the creation of BCH.

I think its better to start with the actual definition of BCH that saw.

"Bitcoin Cash (BCH) is a cryptocurrency created from a hard fork of Bitcoin. It is meant to have quicker transactions than Bitcoin."- Investopedia

So on how I understood, BCH was based out of Bitcoin. It was like branched out of Bitcoin of some sort. It says hard fork and I don't know what the meant. I will be checking that term as well. But year, on how I understood it, BCH is like the offspring of Bitcoin. I might be very wrong. Feel free to correct me.

TOP FOUR: Hard Fork of Bitcoin

Image source from Trustnodes

As I mentioned earlier, there was a term hard fork that was relating Bitcoin to BCH. So might as well read something about it. And I actually did.

What I learned is that the the word "fork" attributed to the idea that the Bitcoin Cash system uses the same technology as the original Bitcoin cryptocurrency. So I think I was kinda right with the analysis that I had, sort of.

I also read that rather than beginning again, the Bitcoin Cash currency has used a copy of the Bitcoin transaction history to make things go smoother and established. That basically saying that BCH relied on Bitcoin once upon a time. And I mean, there's nothing wrong with that I think. Or may be is there? I don't know. I will be learning about more of this in the coming days.

TOP THREE: Trading Bitcoin Cash

Image source from Qoo.ly

So what I found out is that on July 23rd, 2017, Bitcoin Cash futures began trading at 0.5 BTC, and by July 30th, the price had dropped to 0.10 BTC. Because it is very difficult to transfer Bitcoin Cash via the blockchain in the present build status, it is not yet approved for trade on major exchanges.

I get the meaning of this like the concept of it but talking about the true meaning of it, not really. And this information about Bitcoin Cash is so long ago and outdated because it says 2017. But regardless, I think its still good to learn about the trading status of BCH way back.

Image source from Changelly

Also, I am not really sure what futures trading is as but I would definitely add that to my list.

TOP TWO: Bitcoin Cash Price History

Image captured from Statista

So this is actually an actual graph of the previous prices of BCH. I am hoping this is accurate though. I you want to check the data yourselves, go ahead and click on the link that I posted below - the Statista link on the image source.

I did navigate the whole graph and found out the the initial price of BCH is $578.58 and that was on August of 2017. I think its not that bad. More than $5oo dollars as an initial value is pretty good if you're gonna ask me. Or may be its bad because I don't really know the standard pricing of cryptocurrency. But still, that is a good money there.

I also check the highest point on the graph and I bet that you can see it as well on the image above. It seems that BCH reached $2,442.08 before. That was on the same year it has the its initial price. How did that happened? In a matter of 4 months, the value raised up to 400%. That is crazy! If I only knew about cryptocurrency and BCH before as well as knowing the path it will have, I would be crazy rich now. I can only say "I wish" now.

Image source from Google Search

Well lets get back to reality. I searched the current price of BCH now and its actually $642.80. That was a massive drop from 2017 but still, a pretty huge amount and is actually higher than its initial value which is a great sign.

TOP ONE: Major Expectations for Bitcoin Cash

Image source from Reddit

The very first thing that I have read that concerns the BCH future is that when this becomes a viable alternative, the cryptocurrency community is in agreement that they will sell the Bitcoin Cash deposits that have been assigned to them. I am not sure if that is still accurate up until this time but that is not a good plan for the development of BCH.

I also read that the price of Bitcoin Cash is expected to decline at this time. Now this is a negative expectation to have which is not 100% not going to happen. I mean there are a lot possibilities out there. Although I kinda doubt this because I believe that there are a lot of people who believes in the capability of BCH to surpass Bitcoin and eventually become the real deal. Another thing is, the support BCH has is so large and big that people actually invest in the mass adaption of it. Just like this amazing platform that you are in right now.

Image source from The Coin Shark

On the brighter side, a lotof analyst has the vision that there is a chance that the BCH currency may increase in popularity and demand, causing prices to rise. Now this is what I do believe in. A lot of projects has been made and practiced out there for the sake to introduce BCH to the world. More and more people is now aware about the existence of BCH which will really help about the fast adaptation of it. In no time, BCH will be taking all over the world!

These are some of the relevant things I learned about BCH. I would really try my best to learn more about it and eventually master the system.

Image Sources:

FX Empire ; Yahoo News ; Adobe Stock ; Trustnodes ; Qoo.ly ; Statista ; Reddit ; Changelly ; The Coin Shark ; Google Search

Lead Image Source:

Binance Academy

10
$ 2.62
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @rajveerwise
+ 1
Sponsors of TheTopFive
empty
empty
empty

Comments

What I learned is that the the word "fork" attributed to the idea that the Bitcoin Cash system uses the same technology as the original Bitcoin cryptocurrency.

Bitcoin Cash uses the original Bitcoin technology. Bitcoin BTC, on the other hand, no longer uses it. In 2017, Bitcoin Core programmers introduced SegWit technology to Bitcoin BTC. This is not an original Bitcoin technology. Therefore, Bitcoin proponents who have remained loyal to the original Bitcoin technology have introduced a new software Bitcoin ABC, which is no longer compatible with Bitcoin Core.

I also read that rather than beginning again, the Bitcoin Cash currency has used a copy of the Bitcoin transaction history to make things go smoother and established. That basically saying that BCH relied on Bitcoin once upon a time.

Bitcoin Cash didn't make a copy of anything at all . The Bitcoin chain split into two parts in August 2017. One part was Bitcoin Core with Segwit and 1MB blocks and the other part - Bitcoin Cash without Segwit but with 8MB blocks. The coins that were in the Bitcoin chain before September 2017 could (and still can) be spent in both new branches of the chain. So if someone still has unspent bitcoins from before August 2017, they can spend them in as BTC and BCH (but also BSV and eCash). However, the new coins can only be issued in the respective new chain parts. So if you got BTC after August 2017, you could only spend it as BTC. If you got BCH after 2017, you could only spend it as BCH.

Bitcoin BTC no longer uses original Bitcoin technology. It has only kept the ticker BTC because in 2017 most miners were mining the BTC chain and not the Bitcoin Cash chain.

the cryptocurrency community is in agreement that they will sell the Bitcoin Cash deposits that have been assigned to them.

Where did you read that? That is not true at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright, this makes more sense. I relied solely in two articles online and they both contained the same though so I believed the content real quick. Or maybe I just misunderstood the whole material. This is great though. Thank you for further explaining it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please remember that there are many lies or untruths written about Bitcoin Cash on the internet. Some of them are written by people who simply don't have a clue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would definitely keep this in mind sir. Thank you for clearing things out. Have a good one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here you can read about SegWit

https://www.bitpanda.com/academy/en/lessons/what-is-segwit-segregated-witness-and-how-does-it-work/

I prefer not to use the term hard fork, but update. Bitcoin Cash BCH network makes an update (hard fork) every 6 months and constantly improves the node software. Bitcoin BTC doesn't do updates anymore (neither hard forks, nor soft forks, the last one was Segwit). Before 2017, there were several updates (hard forks) in the Bitcoin network.

In a hard fork, two chains are created from one chain. If one of the chains is not supported by most miners, it dies. It is almost always the chain with outdated software. In the Bitcoin Cash hard fork, both chains have survived because Bitcoin Cash developers have built in replay protection and incompatibility with Core chain (BTC). If they hadn't, the Bitcoin Cash chain would have died, even though the software was newer. Most miners used the outdated Bitcoin Core (BTC) software.

If most miners had used Bitcoin Cash software in 2017, Bitcoin Cash software would be used on the Bitcoin network today. Bitcoin would be equal to Bitcoin Cash. The second chain and the second currency would be called Bitcoin Core or similar. It would also have to get a different ticker (e.g. BCC or BIC).

With cryptocurrencies, you always have to think about the blockchain. Read my articles on this

https://read.cash/@Telesfor/how-does-bitcoin-cash-work-95074af9

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I will be checking on those articles. I really need to learn all these different terms. So first lesson, no more using of "fork". Got it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can use the term fork. It is not bad. Only I prefer the term update. Fork is not bad because you see that from one chain, two new ones are created. Like the picture of a fork.

https://www.qwant.com/?locale=en_GB&client=brz-brave&q=fork&t=images&o=1%3A1354BB1C346CE823BFC8982D1BB184A74F1CBE4A

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah, I kinda see that actually. Okay I will for sure take this all in. Thank you for these links by the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, why is it that it always rises when u dnt know about it but falls when u want to invest?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This actually applies to everything. The moment you are fully committed to do something, that's the time as well where everything goes sideways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago