#NFTs are Nifty

2 50
Avatar for TheSnarfy
3 years ago

It's So Neat

No really, it is! The world of NFTs, that is. This word always seemed like a mystery to me. I saw it all the time on Twitter and sometimes I would find it nonchalantly throw into normal speech within some of the crypto blogs I follow. But what really is a Non-Fungible Token? From a blockchain and behind the scenes perspective, I have no friggin' idea. But as someone who loves to collect everything free and shiny online, it's like the Holy Grail!

I'm going to try to use normal language to talk about this since I am not very technical when it comes to the blockchain lingo. I don't know if this will get me ridicule or if it could help someone with a lower level of familiarity with the blockchain understand the concept easier, but I'm willing to take that risk!

My understanding is that an NFT is a unique digital asset of some sort. Think of it like a digital sports trading card or even a Beanie-Baby toy. Each NFT is unique, although there can be more than one that said NFT in that "minting" of a token. (ex. Say there are 10 Snarf Trading Cards. One of them would be minted 1, the next 2, and then to 3 and so on. This sequence is what makes every copy of an NFT unique, no matter what. The lower the mint, the better!) Instantly I was reminded of my youth when I collected Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh cards so naturally, I was super hyped about the NFTs. All the fun of hoarding cool collectibles, but without the hassle of needing to physically store the item.

I have found a blockchain project called WAX that is looking to be the most popular way to buy, store, and sell NFTs. These NFTs trade to wallets in the same way that a cryptocurrency would. There are no fees for any of this trading on the WAX network so that enticed me even more. I now have a unique WAX address and I can use this to store all my NFTs. They have a sleek interface and easily connect to almost every related service. This made it easy to begin learning even more about these collectibles.

I received my first collectible from a friend I met on Twitter. They had been getting into NFTs as well and wanted to help spread the knowledge to me. (If you're reading this, and you know you are said "Twitter" friend, please comment on here!)They gifted me with some "Pepe Hero" tokens. They have fun graphics to look at, and they are all just sitting nicely in my wallet for me to admire. Well, I could sell them but I would NEVER do that to an item that was gifted to me. No matter how big or how small.

If anyone is familiar with the BANANO fork of NANO, you probably have also heard of crypto monKeys. This is a whole monKey collectible card game, fueled by memes and a fun community. The creators have utilized the WAX network to send out these monKey NFTs to users. Some of the NFTs are rare, and some of them are common. But they are all unique, so no one can have the exact same NFT that you have within your WAX wallet.

So now that I understood how to get a wallet, where and what to look for when it comes to NFTs, and how to buy store, and sell NFTs. But where could I earn them myself? I'm someone that loves to build from scratch when it comes to my crypto collections and the NFT journey shouldn't be any different.

I'm still in the early stages of trying to find places to earn NFTs, but I will lightly touch on what projects I am utilizing in hopes to earn some cool NFTs. Right now, I am playing a game called Alienworlds.io. I discovered it by hanging around with all the monKeys over in the BANANO community. It sounded like an easy way to get into gaming and earning crypto, and it certainly has been so far. As I said, I am still early into this game and I haven't earned too much of anything yet. But I am willing to stick with it.

I will be spending the next few days playing (which seems to me like a fancily decorated version of "mining") the new Alienworlds game. I have a whole plan and thought process of how I want to utilize my earnings from the game and how I will be able to get more NFTs by doing so. But for now, you just have to really trust me when I tell you...

They're Nifty.

3
$ 6.77
$ 6.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Macronald
$ 0.05 from @Squeakytadpole
Sponsors of TheSnarfy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheSnarfy
3 years ago

Comments

There is a app called atomic drops notifier on google play. If you download it then it will alert you anytime a new nft drop comes out on wax. Just tap on it and it will take you right to the drop in atomic hub. There has been a decent bit of free ones each week since I have had it

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I had no idea about this! I will have to take a look!

$ 0.00
3 years ago