DapperUndeadSquad Mint is live!

1 25
Avatar for TheETHNomad
11 months ago

So this past few days I've been writing less, as Ive been busy completing the final animations for season 1 of my NFT project DapperUndeadSquad. In this blog I want to take the time to write about the history of the project since I began working on it, what my goals are for the future of this project, and I also want to share a little bit more about me as an artist & what I'm currently working on.

The History of DapperUndeadSquad 

 I began creating the artwork for DapperUndeadSquad roughly 2 years ago. It started in my van one day while I was outside chilling with my dog. I had been studying Blockchain and NFTs for a few months and was stuck deciding on what to create for my first NFT project. I had probably gone through about 20 ideas in the weeks prior but had ultimately scratched all of them. I remember telling myself "fuck it, the next doodle you make is it, you're your worst critic, and you'll throw all of your ideas away at this rate." And I created the original zombie sketch. I began thinking what would make this zombie stand out from a crowd of other zombies illustrations & I had the idea to put all of the zombies in a suit, or a decent outfit, and have them rep their favorite cryptocurrency. It's a simple idea, but I still stand by it. To create each zombie I used a mixture of real life photography, illustration, and  layering & editing on multiple software programs to achieve desired results. 

When I finally created 50 images, I had already spent about 8 months creating the work. It seems crazy spending that much time on each image in hindsight, but I don't regret it. The style I have produced is extremely unique in my opinion, and I believe DapperUndeadSquad will be on of the most iconic works Ive produced someday. Anyways, when I first minted this project, I made a mistake. I chose a relatively unknown platform to mint my work on, and I hadn't done much research on marketplaces. To be honest I was probably more worried about making money 200 days ago when I first minted on the DeSo Blockchain, than I am now. Long story short, I realized this late, and began focusing my efforts elsewhere after letting the small community of followers I met know I was leaving for greener pastures. If you scroll through my blog you can find a post further detailing my departure titled "Leaving DeSo"

I remastered this collection once I decided to burn it on the DeSo Blockchain. I wanted the artwork to look more crisp, and I decided to add a new element to this art collection, that would really compliment the work. I began creating animations to showcase each NFT in a more entertaining & sophisticated manner. The past 40 days of free time was spent producing 50 animations for this collection. Once all of the animations were complete I uploaded the project to Rarible and applied for verification. All 50 works of art are now available for sale and the project was verified. I will be running weekly auctions and once the first 50 NFTs sell I will open a discord server for all of the holders to communicate and receive unique benefits for collecting moving forward.

What DapperUndeadSquad could be?

Assuming that the artwork meets collector's expectations and my project begins to grow & gain support I would actually like to leave the future of the project open to collector's to vote and decide upon. I would like them to create proposals, and eventually shape the future of what DapperUndeadSquad could be. I feel as though it would be short-sighted to just launch a game or comic series with this collection of art. This would come to fruition through the creation of a DAO. My hopes are that this work resonates with collector's who appreciate the time and effort that went into producing each work of 🎨 and they deserve a say in the future of what we create together. Ultimately I hope down the road, horror fans from around the world will have heard about DapperUndeadSquad someday. Dream big or quit dreaming, right? ✅ The possibilities for the project are endless. I have already begun creating the artwork for season 2 of DapperUndeadSquad and my skills have improved greatly since first creating the original illustrations so expect season 2 to be even better! 

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for TheETHNomad
11 months ago

Comments

Each zombie in the DapperUndeadSquad collection was painstakingly produced over the course of eight months, showcasing the artist's commitment and distinctive style. The artist's passion and belief in the idea have not wavered in the face of early difficulties. Great insight!

$ 0.00
9 months ago