"...We Will Not Go Quietly Into The Night! We Will Not Vanish Without A Fight!..."

2 31
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Monday, 22nd November

Pixabay.com

Good morning beautiful people! Damn! What a wonderful day to write. I am very much excited to share with you all what I've got for today. But, before further ado, I would like to appreciate all of you reading this today. It has been an immense pleasure writing for you and have you all read it. Thank you for you.

That being said, I would like to share one of my favorite inspiring quotes written by Edward Everett Hale (April 3, 1822 - June 10, 1909). He was an American author, historian and unitarian minister, best known for his writings such as "The Man Without A Country."

Quote of the Day:

"I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something. And because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do something that I can do."

I must say I get a little inspired whenever I recall this quote, probably why it's one of my favourites. I hope by sharing this you feel a little inspiration today as well.

~~~~~~~~

Now, what I have to share with you today is not a story or an experience. It's not even an event. Instead, it is a speech adaptation from the movie "Independence Day (1996 film)"

I don't know how many of you are familiar with this movie so allow me to take you all down memory lane.

According to Wikipedia, Independence Day (also promoted as ID4) is a 1996 American science fiction action film directed by Roland Emmerich and written by Emmerich and Dean Devlin. It stars an ensemble cast that includes Will Smith, Bill Pullman, Jeff Goldblum, Mary McDonnell, Judd Hirsch, Margaret Colin, Randy Quaid, Robert Loggia, James Rebhorn, Harvey Fierstein and Harry Cornick (Yeah, my thoughts exactly... I only recognise the name Will Smith😅).

The film focuses on disparate groups of people who converge in the Nevada desert in the aftermath of a worldwide attack by an extraterrestrial race. With the help of the other people of the world, they launch a counter attack on July 4- Independence Day in the United States.

As a movie buff myself, I would say this depiction of the movie was truly iconic for its time and now. I just happen to watch this movie quite recently and one thing that truly grasped my attention was the iconic speech rendered by the President to rally motivation and hope. I would say I also felt motivated and hopeful listening to that speech. It was like nothing I've heard before and I felt the chills listening to said speech. It was a truly iconic scene in that movie.

You see, to the best of my knowledge, the scene takes place at Area 51, where the survivors of the brutal extraterrestrial invasion gather to mount a last-ditch offensive to deliver mankind from the threat of annihilation. When President Thomas J. Whitmore (Bill Pullman) grabs the mic and addresses the beleaguered troops. He delivers the speech we've always wanted to hear from an actual president. It was truly iconic.

Now, for the moment of truth... The much talked about speech you've been waiting for!

Here goes nothing....

The President: Good morning. In less than an hour, aircrafts from here will join other from around the world. And you will be launching the largest aerial battle in the history of mankind.

"Mankind"-- That word should have new meaning for all of us today.

We can't be consumed by our petty differences anymore.

We will be united in our common interests.

Perhaps, it's fate that today is the fourth of July, and you will once again be fighting for our freedom, not from tyranny, oppression or persecution -- but from annihilation.

We are fighting for our right to live, to exist.

And should we win the day, the fourth of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day the world declared in one voice:

"We will not go quietly into the night!

We will not vanish without a fight!

We are going to live on!

We are going to survive!"

Today, we celebrate our Independence Day!

A/N: Damn! I don't know about you but that right there is an iconic speech. Some of you might not get it probably because you've not seen the movie or maybe speeches aren't really your cup of tea which is okay but for those of us who actually get it, you'll see what I'm talking or writing about. On that note, I bid all farewell. Till my next article, Toodles!

3
$ 1.36
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
+ 2
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

I have watched the film and you are right about the "president" speech. It was one of the highlights of the film for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you totally get it!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago