Middle Ground- Cancel Culture

1 51
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Friday, 22nd April

I have a series of questions for you today but I'm gonna start with this...

What is cancel culture?

According to Wikipedia, cancel culture or call-out culture is a contemporary phrase used to refer to a form of ostracism in which someone is thrust out of social or professional circles – whether it be online, on social media, or in person. Those subject to this ostracism are said to have been "cancelled".

Simply put, cancel culture is the idea of taking away support for an individual, their career, popularity and/or fame because of something they’ve said or done that’s considered unacceptable. 

Most of the time, people are “cancelled” because they are a public figure with influence over a huge audience and what they’ve done or said is alleged to have caused harm to a particular person, group of people or community. For example, many of those who have been “cancelled” have received this public backlash following accusations of violent, sexist, racist, homophobic or transphobic activities or comments. 

Answer me this, will you say you are Pro-cancel culture or Anti-cancel culture?

Some see participating in cancel culture as the most effective way to hold public figures to account, especially if no other lawful way appears to be working. By bringing the grievance public, it forces the accused’s employers and others to confront the situation and distance themselves from the perpetrator. In other words, it re-balances the power gap between those with huge audiences and the people or communities who could be negatively affected.

However, others believe cancel culture is more of a “mob mentality” that’s gone out of control.

Honestly, I'm team middle ground on this. Reason being that in as much as cancel culture has its advantages and benefits, there are also significant shortcomings in that regard. The issue for me is if it does more harm than good and if the benefits and advantages outweighs the shortcomings you know.

Also, if I am going to engage in cancel culture I would like to think that the kind of cancel culture I practice does more good than harm. Because, these days there indeed are various kinds of cancel culture which can lead to extreme violent behaviours which is wholly unacceptable. I would like to think I practice a kind of compassionate cancel culture that holds people responsible and accountable for their bad behaviours and actions. Not the kind that turns violent and toxic.

I don't think I have anything else to say on that topic except to ask you one last question...

In your opinion, would you say you stan cancel culture even with its imperfections?

That reminds me, I came across this lovely song and I'm sharing it...

You Make Me

Song by Tatiana Demaria

You, uh-uh-uh, make me
You, uh-uh-uh, make me
You, uh-uh-uh, make me
You, uh-uh-uh, make

Falling too deep
Trying to swim
The current too steep and it's pulling me in
I can't breathe, your arms around my heart, my heart
I can still feel, the heat on your skin
My lips are begging to pull you in
I can't breathe
Your hand's around my heart, my heart

I'ma hold the door
For you, there is no cure, I know
That I could quit and I'll
Still find you on both sides
With me right back here

'Cause you, uh-uh-uh, make me
You, uh-uh-uh, make me
You, uh-uh-uh (your arms 'round my heart, my heart) make me
You, uh-uh-uh (your arms 'round my heart, I'm yours) make

Falling too deep
Trying to swim
The current too steep and it's pulling me in
I can't breathe, both arms around my heart, my heart
I can still feel, the heat on your skin
My lips are begging to pull you in
I can't breathe
Your hand's around my heart, my heart

I'ma hold the door
For you, there is no cure, I know
That I could quit and I'll
Still find you on both sides
With me right back here

'Cause you, uh-uh-uh, make me
You, uh-uh-uh, make me
You, uh-uh-uh (your arms 'round my heart, my heart) make me
You, uh-uh-uh (both arms 'round my heart, I'm yours) make.

Image source- pixabay.com

Toodles!!


4
$ 1.52
$ 1.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

Cancel culture is not really nice especially when you don't hear from both sides of the case before embarking on it. Let's say if a celebrity is accused of assault, all the companies affiliated with him will act fast and cancel all contracts they have with him even before he's proven guilty. At the end of everything he may not even be guilty and may have to start from the scratch not to talk of the emotional impact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago