May The Best Person Win.

7 51
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Tuesday, 24th August

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

Good day beautiful people, I trust you're having absolutely splendid and pleasurable days. I know mine is shaping up as such. I must say I'm in such a good mood today. I woke up this morning and decided to just check in on my notifications. I would say an article caught my eye and quickly, I decided to take a looksie. The article is https://read.cash/@Jane/a-perfect-symphony-for-the-galway-girl-b7aa3b71 I must say the article was beautifully written and it made my morning cause I'm a huge fan of Ed sheeran. @Jane you really did good with that article.

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

Right here, right now... I'm sitting here trying to figure out what to write about but I can't because my brother is in a virtual meeting across from me reading his manifesto to his virtual audience trying to convince or should I say appeal to them to vote him as their Financial Secretary in his department in school.

Oh my! I just had a eureka moment. My brother just gave me the best idea. Instead of racking my brain trying to figure out what to write, why don't I just write about my brother's political campaign.

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

I don't consider myself much of a political person nor is politics my forte. Knowing a thing or two about school politics, election season is underway. And in my school (my brother and I attend the same university), there used to be a student governing body called SUG- Student Union Government. The SUG has long been dissolved now and the system we have now is the COFP- Council Of Faculty Presidents. The point I'm trying to make is this, now that election season is underway, with the dissolution of the SUG the advent of the COFP, students have the opportunity to solicit for the different political positions both in their faculty and departments.

That being said, my brother is in his penultimate year in school which has put him in a unique position to actually put himself out there in the political race and is soliciting at the departmental level for the office of Financial Secretary come the emergence of the new session.

Seeing as we are stuck at home due to COVID-19 outbreak in school hostels, we are confined to having virtual classes and meetings therefore, having a virtual election so to speak. Right now, he's in the middle of a zoom meeting where he would have the opportunity to speak and read out his manifesto to the audience. After reading, He would be asked really challenging questions and hopefully he would answer them graciously.

~~~~~

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

Hearing him read out his manifesto ever so confidently yet gracious, almost like it was second nature to him. He majorly talked about Transparency and Accountability

In so many words, he said "I'm all about transparency and accountability so when it comes to the finances of this department, I will ensure that all the finances and financial records are made available to the department at a moment's notice. I would do so by keeping daily records and accounts of the expenses of the department and it all would be made available and open to the department."

When he was done with his speech on how transparent and accountable he's going to be, which I personally think are absolutely important qualities an individual vying for that office should imbibe and possess and I must say he really did well getting his points across, it was time for the Q&A.

The Q&A is actually the most critical aspect to the election process because here you're asked challenging questions and failure to deliver a suitable answer that'll appease the audience would be tantamount to losing the election. It's no small feat trying to think of a politically correct answer to questions designed to knock you off your game. I was a bit worried for him in fact but my brother never projected fear or worry but he still had that gracious confidence about him.

Anyway, I was so engrossed in my brother's trying to tackle these challenging questions and answer it as best he could that I actually forgot to take notes on that aspect. Well, what I can say is that he actually did his best to drive home valid point and it was like the audience were really receptive to his plight so I surmise that he did well.

~~~~~~

The meeting was now concluded, I asked him how it felt like doing all that and he admitted that was one of the hardest things he'd done in his life and he felt like he didn't do too well and maybe the audience saw how worried and shy he was. I was taken aback by his utterance. I told him that from where I was sitting, he projected nothing but confidence and graciousness, and if I saw that then the audience saw that too. He was shocked to hear that because in his mind, he was kind of freaking out. We both laughed about it and he's feeling a bit better now.

A/N: Yeah, I know this isn't my usual writeup but seeing him do something like that was really inspiring. I hope he gets the position he's vying for cause he has put in so much of his time and effort into his campaign. May the best person win.

>>Good day everyone again, I'm always glad to have the opportunity to share my writeup here once again. This is one of many amazing writeups I'm going to be sharing and I'm just elated. I'm Grateful literally and figuratively.

Looking forward to your comments. Please endeavour to subscribe and upvote. Also, I want to take this time to appreciate my sponsors for the sponsorship. Thank you all so much and I trust you have a great day. I love you all.

11
$ 4.66
$ 4.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Freedom007
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

All the best to your brother! You clearly gave him a boost and you supported him well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is as you said, may the best man win, I had no idea he was running, he has my support

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wish your brother the best of it my dear but still God's will be done,if is been willed for your brother surely nothing can change it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was attending my faculty's too before lecture began. I have to leave . It was so rowdy . Everyone was spamming the comments section with the campaign bc of their favourite candidates. I wish your brother the best and as you said "may the best man win"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was so impactful and I went through that post of ma'am Jane it was wonderful.. and I wish him luck

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be inspired by your brother is nice reading that part, some of us can relate because we have no siblings at home and concerning the election All the luck in the world, all wished for him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention

$ 0.00
2 years ago