Is It The End Of A Beginning Or The Beginning Of An End?

2 27
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Monday, 18th April

I would like to kick off this riveting article with the lyrics to a very lovely song.

The Good Side - Troye Sivan

I got the good side of things
Left you with both of the rings
My fingers danced
And swayed in the breeze
The change in the wind took you down to your knees

I got the good side of you
Sent it out into the blue
The people danced
To the sound of your heart
The world sang along to it falling apart

But I sympathise
And I recognise
And baby, I apologise
That I got the good side
The good side of things

I got the good side of life
Travelled the universe twice
So many thoughts I wanted to share
But I didn't call because it wouldn't be fair

Then I got the good side of new
Found arms to fall right into
I know how it looked
It wasn't the plan
And someday I hope that you'll understand

I sympathise
And I recognise
And baby, I apologise
That I got the good side
The good side of things

I'm sure we'll meet in the spring
And catch up on everything
I'll say I'm proud of all that you've done
You taught me the ropes, and you taught me to love

But I sympathise
And I recognise
And baby, I apologise
That I got the good side
The good side of things

Sympathise
Recognise
Apologise
That I got the good side
The good side of things.

I've always loved that song ever since the very first time I heard it. So this morning I woke up to music playing in my room by my baby sister F. What an interesting way to wake up eh!😄 Now that song is stuck in my head.

So, my question for you today; is it the end of a beginning or the beginning of an end??? What do you think that question mean?

You see, it is a loosely based quote from T.S. Eliot,“What we call the beginning is often the end. And to make an end is to make a beginning. The end is where we start from.” It is great stuff if you concentrate on what he's trying to say. Some may also think it has to do with the fact that, since everything keeps repeating itself over and over again in essentially the same manner, the ending of certain events.

If we wanna take the morbid approach, I guess it means that any thing that has a beginning will have to have an end and vice versa. That is any thing that has an end will have a beginning. A new born will die some day. A dying person will be reborn again! This is linear thinking with two ends of line representing beginning and an end.

Now, according to Cambridge dictionary, it is the point where something starts to get gradually worse, until it fails or ends completely.

My point is, it means a lot of different things to a lot of different people. To me, it definitely references the circle of life. Where there is an end, there in itself is the beginning of something new, different and where there is a beginning, eventually and inevitably, there most definitely is an end. It's simply the circle of life and I'm learning to accept that. Now, what I do with the understanding of this concept, this truth, this reality is solely up to me.

Now, last question for you my readers...

What does this all mean to you?

On that note, I bid you farewell. Belated happy Easter to y'all!!!!

Image source: pixabay.com

5
$ 2.72
$ 2.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

I love the song lyrics. I had to go download the song. You have an interesting perspective.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please throw more light on the morbid approach. Anything that has a beginning has an end and anything that has an end has a beginning. How does it actually relate to a dying person being reborn again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago