In Brightest Days, In Blackest Nights...

0 20
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Sunday, 28th November

Pixabay.com

It's Sunday!!!! Happy Sunday to you all. It's such a beautiful day today. The sun is shining. No sign of rain... at least not in this moment. I'm so hyped right now and I'm excited for better days ahead. It's amazing how witnessing the end of a week and the beginning of an another could feel surreal and rejuvenating.

Pixabay.com

Moving unto one of my favorite parts of writing. The Quote of the day. And I'm sure that you might have guessed the quote I have for y'all today as I'm sure you lot might be familiar with it given the title of today's article. It's actually more of an oath or creed than a quote but po-tay-to, po-tah-to, eh?!

Pixabay.com

Anyhoo,Green Lantern's Oath; I may be biased but the Green Lantern's Oath is one of greatest things to grace comics, most especially DC comics. I'm such a huge fan of the DC universe specifically the movies/series. Try saying it out loud and y'all feel like you can take on an entire army of Manhunters.

Pixabay.com

"IN BRIGHTEST DAYS, IN BLACKEST NIGHTS, NO EVIL SHALL ESCAPE MY SIGHT. LET THOSE WHO WORSHIP EVIL'S MIGHT, BEWARE MY POWER, GREEN LANTERN'S LIGHT."

Empowering, isn't it?!!! Damn!!

~~~~~~~~~

Alrighty then, down to business... I would like to share an experience with you. I was nine years old at the time and so, was in my last year of primary school.

Pixabay.com

There is a nine year old kid, Danny sitting at his desk and all of a sudden, there is a puddle between his feet and the front of his pants are wet.

Danny thinks his heart is going to stop because he cannot possibly imagine how this has happened. It's never happened before, and he knows that when the boys find out he will never hear the end of it.

Pixabay.com

When the girls find out, they'll never speak to him again as long as he lives. The boy believes his heart is going to stop; he puts his head down and prays this prayer, "Dear God, this is an emergency! I need help now! Five minutes from now I'm dead meat." He looks up from his prayer here comes Mrs Vincent, the teacher with a look in her eyes that says he has been found out.

Pixabay.com

As Mrs Vincent is walking towards him, a classmate is carrying a bowl of water clearly filled to the brim with water to the front of the class. The classmate treads carefully to towards the front and trips right in front of Mrs Vincent and inexplicably dumps water in Danny's lap.

Danny pretends to be angry, but all the while is saying to himself, "Thank you, Lord! Thank you, Lord!"

Now all of a sudden, instead of being the object of ridicule, Danny is the object of sympathy. Mrs Vincent rushes him downstairs and gives him a change of clothes to put on while his pants dry out.

All the other children are on their hands and knees cleaning up around his desk. The sympathy is wonderful. But as life would have it, the ridicule that should have been Danny's has been transferred to someone else - the classmate. The classmate tries to help, but they tell them to get out. "You've done enough, you klutz!"

Pixabay.com

Finally, at the end of the day, as they are waiting for the school bus, Danny walks over to the classmate and whispers, "You did that on purpose, didn't you?"

The classmate whispers back, "I wet my pants once too."

A/N: Since then, they've remained friends till date. You might have already guessed this but for clarity purposes, I was "the classmate." The classmate was Me!!! Damn! I felt so proud of myself back then. Danny and I don't really see much of each other but we still try to keep in touch and we're still very much in each other's lives. I just wanted to share that with you all today. Happy Sunday once again. Take care. Keep safe. Toodles!

2
$ 0.62
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
+ 1
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments