Excuse me Dance: Dancing is Therapeutic!!!

8 29
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

3rd of January 2022.

Dance is therapeutic!!!

Yesternight was an amazing adventure. I realized how little I have been out of my comfort zone, I never danced in a social setting but tonight I did. I enjoyed myself and for the first time in a long time, I felt relieved. I danced with a stranger because I see myself as a dancer and not a potential target for rape. I would go back to that party any day.

I went to a party last weekend and was told to dance by several people, I was placed in the corner. I've never been comfortable dancing in front of people who are strangers and I've felt my body is more valuable than what it is to me. Some men at the party were hostile towards me because they didn't want me there. They thought it was weird that I wasn't dancing. They asked why I wasn't dancing and if I was nervous.

So it is quite possible that I dance way too often. Like in the random and often totally inappropriate office situation. I know it is my weird thing but on the bright side, at least I am having fun, right?

I have been dancing all my life. And I am very grateful for that fact because dancing is super therapeutic. It can make you forget about any bad news you might have, or any project deadline you might have missed or any colleague you hate with a passion or even any hangover you may have had.

I started dancing back in high school. I was a member of the school’s dance team and performing was the best thing ever. I grew up in Romania and back then, the arts were very much undervalued and people did not really know that much about dance so I was always catching some slack for being a dancer. I was even bullied, once, which is probably the worst thing ever.

In this article I'll talk about why we dance and the relationship between dance and the preservation of our own humanity.

Dance is a meditative state; an escape from reality. It is an excuse to be free from the weight of your mind. It is a chance for pure expression, for pure being; an experience of love, of joy, of body and mind and soul as one, moving together in beauty, in rhythm and in color.

This idea that dancing is therapeutic is so pervasive that we don’t even notice it anymore. We don’t even think about it. We consider it common wisdom. Yet it was not always the case.

We have long been taught that dancing is an act of indulgence, that it is frivolous and ephemeral; not something serious or to be taken seriously.

Yes I am a dancer!!!

But I am also a singer and lover of good music, as well as a business woman, entrepreneur, public speaker and Chief Happiness Officer!

I like to think that my dancing is very expressive, it's one of those things that lets me be the real me, it’s where I truly let go. It’s something you can do without feeling self conscious or that anyone is judging you.

It doesn't matter if your dancing is crap (mine certainly is to some people) because no-one cares as long as you are enjoying yourself.

Could you imagine a world where people made a living, from dancing. From simply dancing. That’s the world I live in.

Dance is therapeutic!!!

I’ll tell you that dance is a connection between the body and the mind. It’s an opportunity to get out of your head and let the music take you away.

I’ll tell you that dance is a vehicle to express the language of your heart, and that you can find yourself in it.

I’ll tell you of my dance history, how I’d dance until the sun came up, and how I felt as if I was literally singing with every move I made.

Excuse me dance!!!

When you don't know what to do and feel like giving up, just put your favorite celebrities dance on stage tape on and do the moves at home.

Dance like a Boomerang!

Dance like a boomerang!

Dance like you're dancing with your man/woman!

Dance, dance like a boomerang, hey!

Dance like a boomerang!

Dance, dance like a boomerang, hey!

Hey, sing the blues, like an old man in the sun.

Dance is therapeutic!!!

#sorryformynonsensicalpost!!!

6
$ 1.11
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

I'm not a dancer, but I love to dance, who cares for my nail-like body haha.

Thank you for this dance, so common let's dance.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. This Is funny

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dance is a virtual art I think.It can refresh your mind and body anytime.I can't dance but whenever I hear music I never stop myself from dancing in front of everyone.Good to hear everything from you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the spirit of music. Dancing is fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dance like noone is watching 😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes oooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahmm, its good to hear when someone loves music.. Hehe.. I'm a music lover too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow. That's lovely. Music is soothing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago