Are You Scared Of Speaking Before A...?

9 37
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Monday, 25th October

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

Hello everyone, wow! It really is a bright sunsing day, isn't it? Do you sometimes get that feeling when you get up from bed and you think to yourself, "Today's going to be a good day." More like manifesting affirmations for the day ahead. This morning, I woke up to that exact feeling, still feeling it even as it is noonday. I hope it's the same for all you guys because it's an incredible feeling and definitely a really good way to start the day.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

That being said, I would like to share my thoughts on an issue I struggle with, Public Speaking. Right from time, I've always dread the idea of speaking out in public for countless reasons I'm not even sure of. I've always struggled with it and now, it's safe to say that I'm a working progress. Dealing with this I would say, is no small feat.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

Now, the questions that's on my mind...

Are you scared of speaking before a large audience or even making a few suggestions in public??

This needn't be. You very well can make effective speeches in public. Here are a few pointers.

Perhaps the most important step is to be sure of what you're going to say. This sounds obvious enough, but it is amazing how many people get up to speak when, in fact, they have very little to say. After one inconsequential point, they discover they have run out of steam. So to ensure you can speak well, the more conversant you are with them the more confident you will be.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

How do you present your speech?

Certainly before you begin, you will be a little uneasy. Even the most experienced speaker feels the same way before beginning their speech. This is not bad; in fact, it is a good tonic for a successful speech. To overcome this, do not rush headlong into the task. Rather, it pays to breathe in and out, heavily, deeply calmly. Then begin the speech, slowly, calmly, carefully, with a clear, confident voice. This is when you're going through the introduction. By the time you finish this and go through the usual ritual of stating that it gives you "great pleasure to stand before this august gathering to discuss a few...", you would have reached a point I like to call "emotional equilibrium." You should now be sufficiently calm to go on with the rest of the speech.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

Also, you should know that, somewhere at the beginning, and at strategic points in your speech, you should introduce flavour into what you are saying. You wouldn't want to serve tea without sugar after all. So, you should inject some humorous remarks once in a while. But this calls for skill. To start with, you cannot introduce humor indiscriminately; otherwise you might sound like a jester. Experienced speakers most often introduce humor in their speeches, presumably to ease the tension in the room. But these jokes must be brief, purposeful and closely related to the point.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

You should also know that, many speakers are scared by the countenance of the listeners. Not all their looks are friendly. However, there are bound to be a few friendly ones; and it is advisable to pick them out, look at them from time to time, and ignore the hostile ones. Looking at a friendly face keeps you at ease.

Photo Credit- pixabay.com

Speech making is an art. While it is true that some are gifted in speech making, it is more correct that any one who doesn't suffer from speech handicaps can learn to deliver effective speeches. Any you can become a master in the art if you let yourself.

Lest I forget...

>>Good day everyone, I'm just glad to have the opportunity to share my writeup here once again. This is one of many amazing writeups I'm going to be sharing and I'm just so excitedly ecstatic. I'm Grateful literally and figuratively.

Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty

Looking forward to your comments. Please endeavour to subscribe and upvote. Also, I want to take this time to appreciate my sponsors for the sponsorship. Thank you all so much and I trust you have a great day. I love you all.

7
$ 2.68
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 6
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

I am one who is not comfortable speaking in front of a large crowd. Conference rooms can be okay for me, where everyone is seated. Your tips are amazing by the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If one needs to do a public speech, stage fright is the last thing that should come to your mind

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, couldn't agree more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From reading your write ups I think you can make a great public speaker!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the vote of confidence. I like to think I would make a great public speaker too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Public speaking is a fear I hope to overcome someday. The first time I stood for the defense was the day I realized that tension can cause memory loss. As I picked up the mic to speak, I couldn't even hear my voice over my loud heartbeat, then I didn't even remember what I had planned to say...it was embarrassing but thankfully it was a group project and I was bailed out by my group members until I finally got myself. I'm glad to say that lately I have made some improvement and will get even better with time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yikes! Well, I can totally relate to this. I've been in a similar situation before but my saving grace was that I actually wrote down my speech. Thank goodness for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This will help me to gain the confidence to speak publicly even though I have been doing that before but the confidence isn't perfect. Thanks for sharing this

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you reading this has helped you in any way. It's my pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago